Lobster Mornay Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This is a good Mornay Sauce recipe, but for me, though, it overwhelms the wonderful, distinct flavor of the lobster. Perhaps if I lived in Maine and ate fresh lobster weekly I might not feel this way, but as it is, the four or five times a year when I do buy lobster I think that I prefer it with just the butter, and lemon. I will definitely make this again, but using shrimp instead. It will make an awesome Shrimp Mornay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnNM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This is very good but definitely needs some spices, nutmeg and garlic adds a lot more flavour, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CuppaTeaGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This was DELICIOUS!!! I made this with shrimp instead of lobster (cheaper!), and I omitted the mushrooms (boyfriend hates them) and used light cream instead of heavy cream. I followed the cooking directions as written, and this created the most silky, savory, and decadent sauce. My boyfriend was raving about this dish to friends and family. Best part? So incredibly easy to make. I served it over brown rice and sauteed squash. You could serve it over pasta, but I recommend (brown) rice because the sauce is pretty thick, so the rice was great for soaking it up; the pasta might be a bit too heavy with the sauce. Make this for your boss who you want to impress, and for your mother in law who you want to hush up. :-) YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuppaTeaGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Agreed, this was a delicious dish! My "tweaks" were as follows: sub. evaporated milk for the cream...half real butter/half margarine....chopped garlic and red onion sauteed with the lobster and mushrooms....lighten up on chicken broth by a tablespoon or two and sub. some sherry. a dash of nutmeg didn't hurt, either. We had some havartii cheese with dill, so I chopped up about 1/4 C of that and tossed it in, too!! Some chopped fresh parsley would have sealed the deal, but didn't have any. Served on a bed of boiled ravioli...with a salad. Very good dinner and the kids loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Really thought it was quite good - did add garlic - salt, pepper, a little red pepper flakes but it is an excellent base for a great sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Good sauce, I added some garlic for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kayla Kinney
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
VERY yummy!!! I put mine over cheese Ravioli. I also added onion, green bell pepper and garlic. I used imitation lobster b/c thats the only thing I could find but it was so good. I also had a little lemon wedge and squeezed it over the chunks of lobster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla Kinney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I made this and used it for topping for baked stuff cod! wow was it fantastic. I added 1 Tb dry sherry to the dish along with 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper and tsp lemon rind...my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I was the only one our 6 who ate this and I only ate it because I made it. The sauce was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TICKLEGRASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
It was VERY thick..I think 1/8 cup of flour would have been fine. I even kept on adding heavy cream to thin it out & was still told it was good but to thick. Otherwise it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States