Lobster Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I thought this recipe was alot of work but worth it. I modified the recipe by just ommiting the part about cooking the lobster & using the shells and just used lump lobster meat bought from the fish market instead. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
It is very good--not really difficult at all, just a little labor intensive. Use a good blender to grate the cheese, and most of the work is done. I add several more garlic cloves, peppercorns, and use lobster tails I get at Sam's for under $20. It's really not that spendy--this recipe actually makes about 8 entree-sized servings. I just use equal sized amounts of the cheeses--usually about 6 oz. portions, grated. I never use a whole lb. of macaroni--a half pound is plenty. This is good even if you omit the lobster. Try adding diced ham instead, or leaving out meat altogether. I also like it with a little heat--use some cayenne or a couple of tsp red pepper flakes--or just serve with your choice of hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Try Ina's recipe (The Barefoot Contesa) on Food Network. Better and easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Harrod

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I used crab instead and it was still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
We enjoyed this well enough, but not nearly enough for me to make it again. The execution of the recipe is unnecessarily complicated, for one thing - it should have been nearly as basic and straightforward as “while pasta is cooking make the white sauce – melt the butter, add the flour. Stir in the milk, cook until thickened. Add the cheese off heat. Mix in all remaining ingredients. Top with buttered bread crumbs. Bake until sauce is bubbly and crumbs are lightly golden.” Simple as that. Also, I found the additions of garlic, shallot and onion distractions rather than contributions. Further, it wasn’t creamy enough – I found I had to add nearly twice as much milk as the recipe directed. Finally, I felt the Panko bread crumbs needed to be tossed with a bit of melted butter. Overly elaborate in both technique and ingredients. I did like the combination of cheeses, but this could have been as easy as simply making macaroni and cheese with a variety of cheeses and stirring in some lobster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I made this recipe for a large dinner party, so I tripled the recipe to 24. I was multitasking during the prep and discovered the next day that I left out 9 cups of cheddar cheese! It was still a very good dish even without the cheddar but I look forward to making it again using all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Excellent recipe. We really love it it. As close as I've found to one that we enjoy at Binion's Steakhouse. I shorten the prep time by sauteing the onions along with the garlic and shallot, and skip the 20 minute boiling. I added about 1/4 cup extra milk because the sauce was so thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I didn't have any of the cheese suggested so instead I used Velveeta. I know it isn't quite the same, but it worked out perfectly! Still added onions, shallots, ground pepper and lots of chopped lobster. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
although it turned out ok, the cost for the ingredients made it not worth it for me for glorified mac and cheese. it was good, not great but a fun recipe to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I made the following changes: I used about 1.5 Cups of leftover steamed lobster and used its butter dipping sauce to saute onion & garlic plus bits of celery, sliced mushrooms & 1 tbsp of chopped red pepper. Instead of elbow macaroni, I used linguine. For cheeses, I used an 8 oz. bag of mixed Mexican-style cheeses & some parmesan. No need to brown the roux 10 minutes nor strain the milk. I did not let the sauce thicken too much as it continues to thicken when it bakes. I browned the panko crumbs in 1 tsp olive oil. Also, I baked the casserole about 25 minutes until it was good & bubbly and starting to brown around the edges. Good recipe, very adaptable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States