Lobster Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
although it turned out ok, the cost for the ingredients made it not worth it for me for glorified mac and cheese. it was good, not great but a fun recipe to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I thought this recipe was alot of work but worth it. I modified the recipe by just ommiting the part about cooking the lobster & using the shells and just used lump lobster meat bought from the fish market instead. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I made this recipe for a large dinner party, so I tripled the recipe to 24. I was multitasking during the prep and discovered the next day that I left out 9 cups of cheddar cheese! It was still a very good dish even without the cheddar but I look forward to making it again using all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I used crab instead and it was still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
this was a big hit at dinner when i had some friends over!!!!!!!! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
My husband made this for a dinner party we had. It's requested now every time we have a get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was wonderful - but maybe more geared toward an accomplished cook. It seemed that there was too much roux mixture to liquid ratio. I had to do some adapting to make the sauce the right consistency. I used 4 lobster tails - and made the stock as suggested in the milk - but cooking it down did not leave enough liquid. Had to add more milk to adjust the thickening mixture. I used shredded parm instead of the gruyere,so I think whatever cheese you use will work. All of that being said - it tasted great! My family absolutley loved it ! After a few changes - it is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Very costly, very labor intensive and it did not turn out. I am a pretty savvy home chef but this just didn't pan out. I abandoned my sweetheart on Valentine's Day to make a fancy pants dinner that was not worth the bucks or the precious time I spent on it. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
It is very good--not really difficult at all, just a little labor intensive. Use a good blender to grate the cheese, and most of the work is done. I add several more garlic cloves, peppercorns, and use lobster tails I get at Sam's for under $20. It's really not that spendy--this recipe actually makes about 8 entree-sized servings. I just use equal sized amounts of the cheeses--usually about 6 oz. portions, grated. I never use a whole lb. of macaroni--a half pound is plenty. This is good even if you omit the lobster. Try adding diced ham instead, or leaving out meat altogether. I also like it with a little heat--use some cayenne or a couple of tsp red pepper flakes--or just serve with your choice of hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
the rue mixture isnt right. def needs more milk/cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States