Lobster Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I think I died and went to heaven when I ate this, how can you go wrong with lobster and Mac & Cheese! Heavenly, didn't change a thing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Really not worth the work at all. I've made different varaitions of this dish, and this one was the worst.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GENHUES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinckney, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I made this for a party last night. I found it bland and not very saucy. Some of the guest agreed. I felt like I needed to add something to give it a kick, some sort of hot sauce. One person suggested Old Bay seasoning. Not sure if I'llmake it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
the rue mixture isnt right. def needs more milk/cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
It is very good--not really difficult at all, just a little labor intensive. Use a good blender to grate the cheese, and most of the work is done. I add several more garlic cloves, peppercorns, and use lobster tails I get at Sam's for under $20. It's really not that spendy--this recipe actually makes about 8 entree-sized servings. I just use equal sized amounts of the cheeses--usually about 6 oz. portions, grated. I never use a whole lb. of macaroni--a half pound is plenty. This is good even if you omit the lobster. Try adding diced ham instead, or leaving out meat altogether. I also like it with a little heat--use some cayenne or a couple of tsp red pepper flakes--or just serve with your choice of hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Very costly, very labor intensive and it did not turn out. I am a pretty savvy home chef but this just didn't pan out. I abandoned my sweetheart on Valentine's Day to make a fancy pants dinner that was not worth the bucks or the precious time I spent on it. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was wonderful - but maybe more geared toward an accomplished cook. It seemed that there was too much roux mixture to liquid ratio. I had to do some adapting to make the sauce the right consistency. I used 4 lobster tails - and made the stock as suggested in the milk - but cooking it down did not leave enough liquid. Had to add more milk to adjust the thickening mixture. I used shredded parm instead of the gruyere,so I think whatever cheese you use will work. All of that being said - it tasted great! My family absolutley loved it ! After a few changes - it is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
My husband made this for a dinner party we had. It's requested now every time we have a get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
this was a big hit at dinner when i had some friends over!!!!!!!! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I used crab instead and it was still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States