Lobster Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
We enjoyed this well enough, but not nearly enough for me to make it again. The execution of the recipe is unnecessarily complicated, for one thing - it should have been nearly as basic and straightforward as “while pasta is cooking make the white sauce – melt the butter, add the flour. Stir in the milk, cook until thickened. Add the cheese off heat. Mix in all remaining ingredients. Top with buttered bread crumbs. Bake until sauce is bubbly and crumbs are lightly golden.” Simple as that. Also, I found the additions of garlic, shallot and onion distractions rather than contributions. Further, it wasn’t creamy enough – I found I had to add nearly twice as much milk as the recipe directed. Finally, I felt the Panko bread crumbs needed to be tossed with a bit of melted butter. Overly elaborate in both technique and ingredients. I did like the combination of cheeses, but this could have been as easy as simply making macaroni and cheese with a variety of cheeses and stirring in some lobster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Rated recipe as is. However upon making it second time, I made the following changes: reduced gruyere to 1/4 lb (1 lb was just too costly to justify)and the amount of cheese overall and used Vintage White Cheddar. Agreed with others - added more milk/half & half. Added bay leaf while simmering the milk, skipped peppercorn, smashed piece of garlic instead of chopping to reduce garlicky flavor. Sauteed shallots with onion. Added smoked paprika and dill to sauce. Sprinkled remainder cheese on top and dusted with paprika for color. The addition of paprika, bay leaf, and dill really made it "pop" in flavor! Husband loved it! The recipe unmodified was good, but lacking in flavor to do the lobster justice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This receipe is good, but there is way to much cheese sause on this. About 3/4 of the amount and it is a wonderful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bob
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Family loved this. I used EXTRA lobster meat and extra cheese and it came out wonderful. Even my neighbor happen to come over and had two bowls of this. Was a hit and will make again for the family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I made this when my son requested it. Everyone loved it. I did make some minor changes however. I used 8 ozs of imitation crab meat and 8 ozs of imitation lobster instead of 2 lbs of fresh lobster. I also only used only 1/2 of the cheddar cheese and increased the milk by 1/2 cup. This is one I'll make again for a special meal since it does take awhile and is very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brklyn1391
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
excellent dish that your guest will just love!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brklyn1391

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheatley Heights, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Excellent recipe. We really love it it. As close as I've found to one that we enjoy at Binion's Steakhouse. I shorten the prep time by sauteing the onions along with the garlic and shallot, and skip the 20 minute boiling. I added about 1/4 cup extra milk because the sauce was so thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I didn't have any of the cheese suggested so instead I used Velveeta. I know it isn't quite the same, but it worked out perfectly! Still added onions, shallots, ground pepper and lots of chopped lobster. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Slightly runny for my taste but overall very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhNetrz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Try Ina's recipe (The Barefoot Contesa) on Food Network. Better and easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Harrod

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States