Lobster Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This was a really great recipe. Personally I would adjust the amount of milk from 2 cups 4. I had to add a lot of milk to mine. I would also do only a half pound of gruyere. It just seemed too smoky with a whole pound. If you use lobster tails instead of whole lobster like I did then I would suggest using 4 or 5 tails depending on their size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maya
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
The Lobster Mac and Cheese was so creamy , delicious and had a nice amount of lobster in it . I will be using this recipe for years to come .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Recipe is slightly labor intensive but the net result is fantastic. Rave reviews from all our guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I used this recipe using the lobster, and have also used chicken...for an added twist, I put buffalo sauce in with it...was really good, if you like the heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I made the following changes: I used about 1.5 Cups of leftover steamed lobster and used its butter dipping sauce to saute onion & garlic plus bits of celery, sliced mushrooms & 1 tbsp of chopped red pepper. Instead of elbow macaroni, I used linguine. For cheeses, I used an 8 oz. bag of mixed Mexican-style cheeses & some parmesan. No need to brown the roux 10 minutes nor strain the milk. I did not let the sauce thicken too much as it continues to thicken when it bakes. I browned the panko crumbs in 1 tsp olive oil. Also, I baked the casserole about 25 minutes until it was good & bubbly and starting to brown around the edges. Good recipe, very adaptable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Camifornia
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Yippy-Ki-Yah! After making this, my wife wants me to make it for all our family and friends...Jee-wiz she even let me off dish duty afterwards! I made one addition which was sauteed mushrooms in white wine...added it to the bake. Next time I'm going to try adding some broccolli too! Love this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camifornia
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
We enjoyed this well enough, but not nearly enough for me to make it again. The execution of the recipe is unnecessarily complicated, for one thing - it should have been nearly as basic and straightforward as “while pasta is cooking make the white sauce – melt the butter, add the flour. Stir in the milk, cook until thickened. Add the cheese off heat. Mix in all remaining ingredients. Top with buttered bread crumbs. Bake until sauce is bubbly and crumbs are lightly golden.” Simple as that. Also, I found the additions of garlic, shallot and onion distractions rather than contributions. Further, it wasn’t creamy enough – I found I had to add nearly twice as much milk as the recipe directed. Finally, I felt the Panko bread crumbs needed to be tossed with a bit of melted butter. Overly elaborate in both technique and ingredients. I did like the combination of cheeses, but this could have been as easy as simply making macaroni and cheese with a variety of cheeses and stirring in some lobster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Rated recipe as is. However upon making it second time, I made the following changes: reduced gruyere to 1/4 lb (1 lb was just too costly to justify)and the amount of cheese overall and used Vintage White Cheddar. Agreed with others - added more milk/half & half. Added bay leaf while simmering the milk, skipped peppercorn, smashed piece of garlic instead of chopping to reduce garlicky flavor. Sauteed shallots with onion. Added smoked paprika and dill to sauce. Sprinkled remainder cheese on top and dusted with paprika for color. The addition of paprika, bay leaf, and dill really made it "pop" in flavor! Husband loved it! The recipe unmodified was good, but lacking in flavor to do the lobster justice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This receipe is good, but there is way to much cheese sause on this. About 3/4 of the amount and it is a wonderful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bob
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Family loved this. I used EXTRA lobster meat and extra cheese and it came out wonderful. Even my neighbor happen to come over and had two bowls of this. Was a hit and will make again for the family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States