Lobster Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This was greatly enjoyed by all! My husband came home from the store with Langostino instead of lobster, but it was still great. A substitution of hot sauce for the horseradish worked well, as did half sour cream for part of the cream cheese. 2 TBSP of butter seemed to be plenty. I heated all of the ingredients on the stove until the cheese and butter were melted, then let it cool. I used a stick blender for just a few pulses for the final blending, and the result was a nice semi-chunky dip. Thank you for a good standby appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I had a bad feeling about this dip but didn't listen to myself. It wasn't horrible it just was tastless. It could have been my lobster's fault but I don't think so. I used a little over 8oz of fresh lobster tail meat and even added a clove of minced garlic and some old bay. I made it the day before so the flavor would intensify but it didn't. My guests ate it but I have had other dips that got devoured. I'm just thankful I only had to throw out a small amount that was left over. Next time I will trust in my instinct!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Surprised this did not wow me since it had such high reviews. Needs some doctoring up, as in leave out the butter, definitely either more fresh lobster instead of canned, or less cream cheese, a couple dashes of old bay seasoning, a scant squirt of ketchup, a dash of cayenne, and clove of minced garlic, for more complexity. Otherwise, the original recipe tasted to me like seasoned creamed cheese with lobster bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I made this for my husband's staff party last year and it was a hit. I used rice crackers to use with it due to food concerns for other employees....went over extremely well. Not a morsel was left. Will be making it for my staff party. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This recipe was delicious. I made small changes after perusing the other reviews, but only adjustments in ingredient quantity (i.e. bit more lemon juice, less cream cheese, fresh lobster). Definitely a keeper! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I just made this and it was very good. I omitted the butter, because I didn't see the need for it, since it already has the creamed cheese. I also, increased the onions and horseradish, used 1/3 less fat cream cheese. I really enjoyed this. Had it on crackers and I'm thinking that it I left the lobster in large pieces, it would be great as a lobster roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Oh, my word, was this good. I used fresh lobster meat and left some of it a little chunkier than the rest. I reduced the amount of onion to only about a teaspoon and added just a teeny bit of chopped chives for some contrast. I also cut back a little on the lemon as well - I wanted to minimally enhance the lobster flavor and didn't want to take the chance of masking it in the least. I never would have thought to combine lobster and horseradish (I tend to like mine strictly with drawn butter) but I found it not only creative, but very tasty as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
this was gross, will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rutland, Vermont, USA
Living In: Colchester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
So good it is a keeper! I found a whole cooked lobster on sale for $6. Next time I’ll double the lobster just because we can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Clams Casino Dip

See how to convert a classic hot appetizer into a tasty chilled dip.

Fruit Dip II

A light, fluffy, super-easy dip with cream cheese and marshmallow crème.

Fruit Dip

Dunk fresh fruit into a sweet and creamy pineapple-flavored dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States