Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
I substituted shrimp for lobster and it was great... Although I had to add more flour to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
I enjoyed this recipe very much. It required items that you would normally have in your home. One thing though, I added a little thyme, a pinch of parsley and basil, these items spiced it up a bit more. Overall my husband, parents and friends loved it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
Okay... this recipe was very good, but there were a few adjustments that I had to make. I went ahead and followed the directions, but instead of using milk, I substituted it with heavy whipping cream. I chopped the onions, instead of slicing them. I also added a few tablespoons of tomato puree, I added some more worestshire sauce and some more chayenne pepper and VIOLA! The recipe was perfected. Oh... I also let it cook on low heat for about 1 hour. The trick to this recipe is to allow it to simmer. Wilma, you had the right idea, but you just needed a little more special additions to your recipe to make it perfect. Thank you for giving me the basics. This has become one of my family's favorite! Michi in Miami
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
664 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHI IN MIAMI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weehawken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
Very good - made a few adjustments. Used 1 cup skim milk, 1 cup whipping cream instead of 2 cups milk. Added: 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper (makes it pretty tasty.. 1/4 tsp. pepper 1/4 tsp. parsley 1/4 tsp. garlic powder 1 Tbsp. Worcheshire sauce (additional) To save time, I prepared the lobster meat the day ahead then threw it all together the next day. The soup is so delicious and very meaty. Thanks for such a great recipe!! I've now made this a handful of times and everyone loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
I have never made a bisque before so I was somewhat apprehensive about making this recipe. I was sure off base! This recipe was so fast and easy! I made mine with shrimp instead of lobster and I was so pleased with the outcome. I also added more flour(about double)than what the recipe called for because I wanted to pour this bisque over pasta. My husband and two year old son are both VERY picky eaters and both of them LOVED it. I will definitely make this recipe again and again. Thanks Wilma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Heights, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2000
Delicious taste and very quick and easy to make. I would make it just a little thicker next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2002
THE ONLY PROBLEM IS WE DOUBLED THE RECIPE AND IT STILL WASN'T ENOUGH!!VERY RICH AND CREAMY.GOOD SIZE PIECES OF LOBSTER MEAT GIVE IT MORE SUBSTANCE THAN A PUREED BISQUE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2002
What an easy and delicious bisque! I thickened it up a little at the end by taking 3/4 cup of the soup and mixing it with a little flour then adding it back. An excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
This was really quick and easy and very very tasty. I too added a little more flour to thicken it up a bit and I also added a little more pepper and a little more of the worchestire sauce. Came out great and will make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
For a low fat version try I Can't Believe it's not Butter spray and skim milk. Tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States