Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This recipe is pretty good. I used half/half, more wrcster sauce, more cayenne pepper, more salt and pepper, and DEFINETLY more flour, a little more than double what it calls for. Just make you taste it after every addition of anything, because it's really easy to go over on the caynne. Added garlic powder and a bit of parsley and that's as close you can get it to restaurant style with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brownboot247

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Wonderful. My family loves it. I followed other readers' suggestions and chopped the onion (I used about half a small onion), half and half instead of milk, a bit more cayenne, and I used lump crabmeat instead of lobster meat. I served it with crusty bread and green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LKMartin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I've made it with shrimp and crab...its simple and delicious. I add old bay though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Manuele

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Richard Y
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Made this with the suggestions in the other reviews and it was wonderful. Served it in a bread bowl to switch it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cameron, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I made this recipe exactly only using crab meat instead of lobster and did not change anything as others have and it was awful to me and my husband who really loves bisque of any kind. I used 2 lbs of crab meat since it called for 2lbs of lobster and that was way too much meat so I think 1/2 lb would have sufficed. After it was done and I tasted it and didn't like the taste, I did add a little garlic salt, more worchestershire, pepper and cayene but that provided little improvement. So on this soup, I'll leave it to the restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvelous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I followed michi from miami's review by adding a few tbs of tomato paste (I used 3 tbs) to give it that nice pink colour. I also subbed the milk for heavy cream, however, i think 2 cups of heavy cream makes the soup too heavy. I'd do 1 cup cream and 1 cup milk next time. Instead of using chicken broth, I boiled lobster shells in water and used "lobster broth" to give it a better lobster taste. I also added the lobster meat right before serving instead of letting it get all chewy. I also let the bisque simmer for about an hour as suggested by michi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This is a good recipe, just not amazing. I will make it again, although not for my husband as I found out he doesn't like seafood bisques. As other reviewers suggested I used 4 T butter and 4 T flour to and added garlic (1-2 cloves), old bay seasoning (just a bit), and some parsley (maybe a tsp). Instead of the cayenne (didn't have any) I added a few shakes of hot sauce. Unlike many other reviewers I used milk (skim) and the consistency was fine. Many of the reviews also called for tomato paste, but didn't have any so put a few squirts of ketchup (after tasting and realizing it was missing something) in there and it added a lot to the dish. To keep a little more budget friendly used shrimp/crab instead of lobster and it was just fine. It would have been bland without the additional seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I followed the recipe without taking the suggestion to modify to see how it came out...it didn't knock our socks off...will keep looking. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Super bomb! I made this for valentines day, used six lobster tails, made the stock from the tails, didn't have paste so used two tsp catsup, added dried pepper flakes instead of cayenne, and more seasonings and worst. like the other reviewers. The next day I made crab bisque with left over king crab meat (we ate too much bisque to finish the crab) this time i used tom. paste and white wine, it wasn't near as good with the paste/wine, but still good had we had not just had the OUTSTANDING lobster version we'd probably have liked it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daizy7155

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Honestly, Nothing beats this recipe.. I cook like a 5 star hotel chef! But yes, must sub the milk with whip cream or heavy cream. and more pepper, simmer is the key 1hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sappy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States