Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This is easy to make and tasty if you follow the suggestions of others to up the Worcestershire sauce and use some tomato paste to thicken. Otherwise, it's far too thin and watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I followed one of the other posts and added half cup half and half, half a cup milk and a whole cup heavy cream. Also added in old bay seasoning and parsley and a bit of garlic salt. Turned out decent, but absolutely NOTHING to brag about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I had made this many many times. It takes a while for the bisque to tighten up so instead of adding the lobster meat as instructed which will get tough, I add it at the end so the lobster meat stays sweet and tender. Please note: I do add a piece of lobster when instructed (for flavor) but it is to tough to eat so I discard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mwalker5

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I loved, love, loved ths soup. It was easy and probably the best soup I ever had. I made some changes based on what I had on hand. I used scallops cooked with olive oil & garlic instead of lobster. I used one cup of heavy cream and one cup of milk instead of 2 cups of milk. I added a couple of heaping tablespoons of vodka spaghetti sauce (cuz I didn't have tomato paste) but I will always add that from now on becuase I think that was what took it from really good to really, really great. I can't wait to make this again - and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I made this recipe but was confused by the instructions, specifically the "2 Slices Onion". It seems as if onion is added at two different points, and I wasn't sure if it was two slices of onion or two onions sliced. Regardless, I used 1 1/2 medium/large onions and did the rest according to the directions and it tasted wonderful and probably could have used a little more cayenne. Thank you for the simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yacqueli

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Alamitos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
My family loved it! Thank you for the quick recipe! Will sure to be making this again! But I took Michi in Miami's advise and added extra Worcestershire sauce and a little more Cayenne pepper, along with a little tomato sauce (didn't have tomato puree).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michimama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Excellent. I wanted something quick 1hour before dinner, and WOW!!! I just added a few things, jumbo shrimp, scallops, and added 2 cups of cream and a box of chicken stock. Also added celery. A must have to serve for your quests. Trust me on this one. Yes, yes, Yes,!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
very good - i made only a few adjustments; i doubled the recipe however used three pounds of fresh lobster tails flash cooked in a skillet with a dab of butter and cubed it (a bit more expensive but worth it), substituted heavy whipping cream for the milk and added three table spoons of tomato paste, a bit more worcestershire sauce and a bit more cayenne pepper. absolutely excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This tasted like onion soup. I also didn't enjoy the amount of chunky in the soup. I did chop the onions rather than slice. Since I didn't like the full size of the onions I put the soup in a blender to make it creamy. I thought 'bisque' is a creamy soup not chunky. Not sure if I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Fabulous. I used Michi in Miami suggestions (found her under reviews and hitting tab "most helpful") and it was fantastic! A great way to use our leftover lobster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAIRBEAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vacaville, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States