Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Love this recipe. I use Shrimp instead of lobster. I've made this recipe numerous times and it keeps getting better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
My husband and I make this using imitation crab, 1 cup of milk and 1 cup of half and half. Splash in a little white wine, add some white pepper and a little more worchestershire and it is superb. We also pureed it until smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlett, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Wonderful! Very easy and perfectly delicious. I used 1 cup milk and 1 cup heavy cream, but would have been fine with all milk. Thanks for the great recipe. I'll be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I really like the taste and simplicity of this recipe. I made a couple of modifications. First, the base of the recipe was made just as it is called for with chicken broth, onion, butter, and flour. Then, I added heavy cream instead of milk, and Campbell's Tomato Soup for some extra flavor, and color. Next, I added the salt, Worcestershire, and cayenne pepper. I added 3 - 6 oz. cans of crab meat, instead of the lobster, but it tastes very similiar. For a little extra spunk, I also added one can of small shrimp. One note to mention, remember to cook the onions all the way through before adding to the rest of the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This recipe is really easy and delicious. I doubled the cayenne because we like our food spicy. I'll definitely make it again, but next time I will cut the lobster in small, fine pieces instead of cubed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoga Chick

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This is easy to make and tasty if you follow the suggestions of others to up the Worcestershire sauce and use some tomato paste to thicken. Otherwise, it's far too thin and watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I followed one of the other posts and added half cup half and half, half a cup milk and a whole cup heavy cream. Also added in old bay seasoning and parsley and a bit of garlic salt. Turned out decent, but absolutely NOTHING to brag about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I had made this many many times. It takes a while for the bisque to tighten up so instead of adding the lobster meat as instructed which will get tough, I add it at the end so the lobster meat stays sweet and tender. Please note: I do add a piece of lobster when instructed (for flavor) but it is to tough to eat so I discard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mwalker5

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I loved, love, loved ths soup. It was easy and probably the best soup I ever had. I made some changes based on what I had on hand. I used scallops cooked with olive oil & garlic instead of lobster. I used one cup of heavy cream and one cup of milk instead of 2 cups of milk. I added a couple of heaping tablespoons of vodka spaghetti sauce (cuz I didn't have tomato paste) but I will always add that from now on becuase I think that was what took it from really good to really, really great. I can't wait to make this again - and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I made this recipe but was confused by the instructions, specifically the "2 Slices Onion". It seems as if onion is added at two different points, and I wasn't sure if it was two slices of onion or two onions sliced. Regardless, I used 1 1/2 medium/large onions and did the rest according to the directions and it tasted wonderful and probably could have used a little more cayenne. Thank you for the simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yacqueli

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Alamitos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States