Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
NatalieMac - If you're going to use the broth created by cooking the lobster make sure you don't add salt. I cooked a whole lobster using the recipe from this site which calls for adding 1 TBSP of salt per quart of water. Adding that broth to this soup nearly got me sick it was soooooo salty. I also have a larger family so if I were to do this again I would look at doing double the recipe without doubling the lobster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by one man

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
use lobster broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brittany Kline
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I don't eat seafood, but the Fiance gives this 5 stars! I did try it and it wasn't that bad but he LOVED it. He said that he would have eaten the whole thing if he could but he was full. The only thing I would do differently is a fix the one mistake I made of chopping the onions and putting it in the soup. he would have preffered NOT doing this. (it was a suggestion made in a review and he loves onion but said it just didn't taste quite right) My dad was a chef at a local seafood restaurant yet i DONT eat seafood. I had about 3 tablespoons of the broth but wouldn't eat the chunks! Because I don't eat seafood, I didn't know where to get lobster, so i got imitation lobster (1 LB for $6) and he said it tasted GREAT! I did 1/2 milk and 1/2 cream and also took half of the soup in the blender and put it back in with the soup to chop up some of the pieces and make the soup a little thicker (we like thick soup). I didn't do the whole thing becuase I know he likes the chunks too. I was going to freeze some for him for easy pulloutofthefreezerandhavethenextdayfor lunch, but it will probably be gone by today. I'll have to make it again when he isn't home and put containers in the freezer or he will probably eat it all. Great recipe to keep the fiance wanting to marry me! Thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Kline

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I made it today I love it. Thank you so much for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This was lovely...to the last drop! I did alter the original recipe with all of "Michi in Miami"'s adjustments....to fine tune I used 4 tsp of the tomato puree, 1 1/2 tsp of Worcestershire sauce and instead of milk, used 1 cup of heavy whipping cream and 1 cup of 1/2 and 1/2....we "tasted" it prior to dinner and my guests ate it all...it never made the table....outstanding! A nice buttery chardonnay pairs nicely! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I added white wine...delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chepachet, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Use 1 cup heavy cream / 1 cup milk Sherry to taste Seafood Stock 3 TBS tomato puree increase Worcestershire and Cayenne Shallots and Onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vestal, New York, USA
Living In: Moneta, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Very good - I added 1/4 cup sherry, increase worst. sauce, added pepper, added cornstarch (1 tsp with water) to thicken, parsley, and garlic. I skipped the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This is an amazing soup! So easy. I've never made any seafood soups, and this was better than anything I've ever had at anywhere! I'll be making it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Very quick & easy, and of course delicious! I also used a few alterations: I boiled fresh shrimp & lobster until almost done, then simmered the boiling liquid and used 1 cup of that instead of the the chicken broth. instead of 2 cups milk: I used 1 cup milk, 1 cup heavy whipping cream. Added: 1/4 tsp. white pepper 1/4 tsp. garlic powder 2 tablespoons good chardonnay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States