Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Made the change of using heay whipping cream.. Sauted shrimp and used the remaining butter in the bisque. Made sure I added lots of lobster meat, but also made sure I was very careful how much cayenne pepper was added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Union, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Simple, yet delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Night Owl
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Such a wonderful bisque to make. Mind you it is impossible to follow the recipe. You find yourself throwing in extra broth here, some more spices there, thickening it up some more with flour/cornstarch. Everybody just has a preferrence and that's okay. I think this recipe is easy to toy with. My recommendations are as follows. . . -use whipping cream as opposed to milk (keep it on low and constantly stir as to not let it scorch or settle) -use more worcestershire and just an eencie bit more cayenne or tobasco. -depending on what kind of bisque you like either chop up the lobster finely and have your bisque chunky, or cool it down once its all put together and blend it to really combine the ingredients. . . -Lastly, I don't know about all of you but if you have a fresh lobster to use, barbecue that bad boy with some gnarly add ons (lemon, garlic, worcestershire, pepper, etc) just to get your meat prefunked before it goes in the pot. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Night Owl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duvall, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Very good base recipe, but like others, I needed to tweak it a bit. It is now one of my favorites in our dinner/lunch rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This just tasted odd to me but my husband enjoyed it. I don't think I'll make this again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanie Mowry Ray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bremen, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I did not try this as written but used m in miami's suggestions about cream, tomato, cyanne, etc and turned out great. Tip: if using immiation meat puree it first with milk if you like bisque texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyKat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I think the flavor of this dish was ok, nothing exceptional, but it was a little on the thin side and didn't quite live up to my expectations. Hubby said it was good, but I'm not sure he wasn't just complimenting the effort of making him an entire seafood dinner. I'll give it another shot eventually - hopefully I just didn't do something quite right since everyone else has rated it so highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I changed this by adding 1 cup heavy cream & reducing the regular milk to 1 cup. I also added 2 tsp paprika for flavor and colour without it the bisquye looks too white.I also doubled the Wostecher sauce. Every one raves about this. My husbands favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
AMAZING !! I was lucky enough to have frsh lobster on hand. Did as was suggested by others and used 1c cream and 1c milk. Also added a splash of white wine with the onions and some fresh garlic. One small can of tomato paste and the it turned out beyond my expectations. Thanks so much for a recipe I will make time and time again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Wow! I havent ever had a lobster bisque, let alone made one so this was a nice first try! I did add some pepper about 1/4 cup parmesean cheesse and did half crab half lobster (and all I had was imitation). It came out fantastic (even with the imitation). We served it with some baguettes and loved it! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington Court House, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States