Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
My husband actually said it as better than the lobster we had the left iovers from---I added more cayenne and more worcheshire and a little tomato paste and 1/2 And 1/2. So simple yet extraordinary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Love it!! I'm going to try it with shrimp next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hustisford, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Great Bisque...quick and easy. I followed some of the other reviewer suggestions (love that about this site:) and upped the worccestershire and cayenne pepper to taste. I also added about half of a small can of tomato paste. I was a little hesitant to do this but it really boosted the over all flavor. I also doubled the recipe and used imitation crab and some leftover shrimp (being budget minded). After it had cooked for a bit, I put about a third of it in my blender and than added it back in. This made for a very rich and creamy soup. I also used all half and half instead of just milk. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
great recipe...I used heavy cream and half n half and also added tomato paste and a little more cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This was fabulous! I made some minor changes just based on the amount of things I had on hand, but basically followed the recipe. Very easy to make! The reviewer that said to puree or finely chop some of the lobster was right on...that gave it the perfect texture. I will make this again and again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairview Park, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I used Better Than Bouillon lobster base, chopped the onions, added more pepper and added a few tbsp. of tomato paste like another reviewer suggested. LOVE IT. Thank you. My whole family loves it, little kids included.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MercilessDomesticTyrant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Boog
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Fantastic!, I did a couple of different things thanks to some previous suggestions. I had left over crawfish tails from a crawfish boil so used that instead of lobster. 1 cup whipping cream , 1/2 cup half and half and 1/2 cup whole milk. Onion was diced and also added little bit of green onion at the end. I added 1/2 cup of frozen white corn, talk about yummy! 3 pinches of cayenne and little more salt. My teenager loved it! Thank you for sharing this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Made the change of using heay whipping cream.. Sauted shrimp and used the remaining butter in the bisque. Made sure I added lots of lobster meat, but also made sure I was very careful how much cayenne pepper was added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Union, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Simple, yet delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Night Owl
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Such a wonderful bisque to make. Mind you it is impossible to follow the recipe. You find yourself throwing in extra broth here, some more spices there, thickening it up some more with flour/cornstarch. Everybody just has a preferrence and that's okay. I think this recipe is easy to toy with. My recommendations are as follows. . . -use whipping cream as opposed to milk (keep it on low and constantly stir as to not let it scorch or settle) -use more worcestershire and just an eencie bit more cayenne or tobasco. -depending on what kind of bisque you like either chop up the lobster finely and have your bisque chunky, or cool it down once its all put together and blend it to really combine the ingredients. . . -Lastly, I don't know about all of you but if you have a fresh lobster to use, barbecue that bad boy with some gnarly add ons (lemon, garlic, worcestershire, pepper, etc) just to get your meat prefunked before it goes in the pot. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Night Owl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duvall, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States