Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Excellent! I added about 1/4 cup of Sherry and it tasted like the best bisque I've ever had in any restaurant. Won't be paying big bucks for this anymore now that I know how easy it is to make! I used lactose free milk and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diannapop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This was the best and I could not have found a better recipe. As with all the others, I made the same changes; doubled the butter/flour, used 1cup whipping cream, 1/2 c half and half and 1/2 c milk. Added more worchestire and cayene and added 2 tbl ketchup (did not have tomato paste on hand) This was awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
We love this. I used imitation lobster (when I could find it...it's not easy to find down here) and I have used crab meat. Both turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This is my first review. This recipe was so excellent that I absolutely HAD to register to write this! I'm sure the basic recipe is very good to begin with (thank you Wilma!), but I changed several things to my liking. First off, I didn't have any lobster so I used Lobster Classic by Trans Ocean. It's imitation lobster meat made with surimi, a cooked fish protein. This particular brand uses Alaskan Pollock. To my surprise, the Lobster Classic tasted quite good as a replacement for the real thing. You get a nice sweetness and none of the fishy flavor that I noticed when eating it by itself. While the texture is a little off, the bisque is so flavorful that it blends right in. As far as the bisque ingredients go, I substituted: 6 pearl onions, sliced (in place of the regular sliced onion); 3 tbsps butter (instead of 2, to make it creamier); 1 1/2 tbsps corn starch (instead of 3 tbsps flour; my girlfriend has Celiac disease, which is essentially an intolerance to wheat gluten.); 1/2 tsp of seasoned salt (instead of regular salt); 1 dash cayenne pepper (instead of a pinch). I then added: 1/4 tsp black pepper; 1 turkish bay leaf; 1 dash garlic powder; 1 dash celery salt. I also let it simmer for about 30 minutes, which helped it thicken up better. My girlfriend doesn't really like fish or shellfish much---granted I didn't use real lobster---but she LOVED this bisque! I am very happy to have found this recipe. Thanks a million!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
My boyfriend loves lobster bisque soup. I made this for him with some left over lobster tail. I add 3 tablespoons tomato puree, a couple cloves of garlic and some old bay seasoning and parsley. I let it simmer for an hour very YUMMY. He said it was the best he ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
We are on a school budget so we used Lobster "sticks", canned crab and shrimp to flavor our Bisque. It was wonderful!We added a small can of tomato paste for color and flavor. We also added some seasoned salt and Old Bay. Remember to add the seafood for only the last 40 minutes or so. Add it too early it will be tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Great recipe! So easy... I added a little extra flour and a dash of paprika and garlic. It had great flavor! I also added a few chives for a little green color and let it simmer for about half an hour. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I made this for my 11 yr. old son's birthday and he loved it! I took some of the other's suggestion and added the tomato paste. I couldn't believe how easy and good this was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANE BULANDA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
My hubby and I thought this was pretty good. The one thing I will do differently next time is blend the lobster meat, as I did not like the chunks. The flavor was very good, maybe just a tad too spicy. Would make again with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was the most amazing seafood bisque I've ever had in my life. Great recipe, will definitely make over and over again. My only recommendation is to add some creole seasoning and garlic powder to give it a bit more kick, and to use half and half instead of milk! I have also made this with crab meat instead of lobster, and it came out just lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States