Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I made this bisque a few months back and it was the best I've ever had. I tried to find the recipe again and had a rough time. I tried another and it was nowhere near as good as this one. I'm sooooo relieved I found it again!! My man can't stop telling me how amazing it is as he gobbles every last bite. The reason I tried this to begin with is because I had all the ingredients, minus the lobster. Several others were more complicated and I didn't have everything. Seems simple is best! I have added to my favorites and again am very happy I found this again after not writing it down! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This recipe was very quick and easy to make. Tastes good. Defnitely add the tomato paste as suggested by other reviews. It helps with the colour and adds a bit of flavour but doesn't overpower the lobster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
i thought this was ok, it was a little bland but still decent. not sure if i would make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~KC~formally YoungCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
We're not big seafood eaters and I had some langoustinos I didn't know how to cook. After reading about 40 reviews of this recipe I figured I could fake my way to something great with the ingredients I had as the recipe seems very forgiving. I doubled the roux to 3-4T flour and the same of butter, used 1.5 onions, diced and sauteed, no garlic(!), about a quart of veggy stock, a couple cups of milk, maybe a cup of cream, about 3-4 T of tomato paste, some frozen chopped spinach, and 12oz of chopped pre-cooked langoustinos. While the end result was probably more a soup than a bisque, it was really quite tasty; even my two year old ate it happily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Excellent! I added about 1/4 cup of Sherry and it tasted like the best bisque I've ever had in any restaurant. Won't be paying big bucks for this anymore now that I know how easy it is to make! I used lactose free milk and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diannapop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This was the best and I could not have found a better recipe. As with all the others, I made the same changes; doubled the butter/flour, used 1cup whipping cream, 1/2 c half and half and 1/2 c milk. Added more worchestire and cayene and added 2 tbl ketchup (did not have tomato paste on hand) This was awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
We love this. I used imitation lobster (when I could find it...it's not easy to find down here) and I have used crab meat. Both turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This is my first review. This recipe was so excellent that I absolutely HAD to register to write this! I'm sure the basic recipe is very good to begin with (thank you Wilma!), but I changed several things to my liking. First off, I didn't have any lobster so I used Lobster Classic by Trans Ocean. It's imitation lobster meat made with surimi, a cooked fish protein. This particular brand uses Alaskan Pollock. To my surprise, the Lobster Classic tasted quite good as a replacement for the real thing. You get a nice sweetness and none of the fishy flavor that I noticed when eating it by itself. While the texture is a little off, the bisque is so flavorful that it blends right in. As far as the bisque ingredients go, I substituted: 6 pearl onions, sliced (in place of the regular sliced onion); 3 tbsps butter (instead of 2, to make it creamier); 1 1/2 tbsps corn starch (instead of 3 tbsps flour; my girlfriend has Celiac disease, which is essentially an intolerance to wheat gluten.); 1/2 tsp of seasoned salt (instead of regular salt); 1 dash cayenne pepper (instead of a pinch). I then added: 1/4 tsp black pepper; 1 turkish bay leaf; 1 dash garlic powder; 1 dash celery salt. I also let it simmer for about 30 minutes, which helped it thicken up better. My girlfriend doesn't really like fish or shellfish much---granted I didn't use real lobster---but she LOVED this bisque! I am very happy to have found this recipe. Thanks a million!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
My boyfriend loves lobster bisque soup. I made this for him with some left over lobster tail. I add 3 tablespoons tomato puree, a couple cloves of garlic and some old bay seasoning and parsley. I let it simmer for an hour very YUMMY. He said it was the best he ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
We are on a school budget so we used Lobster "sticks", canned crab and shrimp to flavor our Bisque. It was wonderful!We added a small can of tomato paste for color and flavor. We also added some seasoned salt and Old Bay. Remember to add the seafood for only the last 40 minutes or so. Add it too early it will be tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States