Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
see other reviews first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This is the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lhammond
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
For a simple soup this is definatly a 5 star recipe. After reading the reviews I decided to add 1 teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce, 4 tablespoons of butter and 4 tablespoons of flour. I also chopped the onions, but my husband and I agree not to chop them again. With the lobster we shredded it, and it kept the soup hearty. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This was easier to make that I thought it would be. I couldn't get lobster because the commissary didn't have any, so I used crab meat instead. I only gave it 4 stars in part because we didn't care for it that much. I will try it again with lobster though, but if I can't find lobster I might try it with scallops. I think that crab meat was a poor substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by algwinnup

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Island, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This one was just ok. It was definitely bland for our taste, and that was after already adding creole seasoning and the cayenne pepper. I might make it again, if I could figure out what was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I minced my onions and added about 2 tbsp total of W sauce. It was fantastic and a great base for any kind of bisque.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silentturnip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geraldton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
needed more flavor - the worcestershire sauce added some flavor a long with the cayenne pepper so I added the lobster juice. I also diced the onions, not chopped. Very easy and yummy and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I made this last night using the suggestions from Michi in Miami. It is so easy and elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This bisque is AWESOME!! I've always loved lobster bisque and now that my husband catches lobster a lot, I decided to try out some lobster recipes myself. I used a lot of the advice that others gave and I'm so glad that I did. I used 1 shallot rather than regular onion. To replace the milk, I used 1 cup half and half, 1/2 cup heavy cream, 1/2 cup skim milk (the only milk I had in the house). I increased the amount of Worcestershire sauce to 1 tablespoon and cayenne pepper to 1/2 teaspoon. I also added 3 tablespoons of tomato puree and about 1/2 cup parsley near the end. I didn't want to overcook the lobster so I let the sauce simmer for about 30 minutes, then added the nearly fully cooked lobster (which I sauteed with butter, shallots and garlic) to the sauce to simmer for another 30 minutes. SO TASTY! If you prefer a mild taste, reduce the cayenne pepper. 1/2 teaspoon gives a nice kick which I loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I have made this bisque several times, now. The changes I made were mostly from reviewer Michi's Oct. 2003 review. The only other change I made was to add some sherry to taste. You can not have a good lobster bisque without sherry. I have also made this using the imitation seafood combos that are a lot cheaper and it was great. Oh, and I use seafood stock or clam juice instead of chicken stock. Sounds like a lot of changes, but really the base recipe is very good and the joy of cooking is to make it like you like it. Thanks, Wilma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States