Lobster Bisque II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
i agree with others - very bland. even my husband thought it tasted like warm flour. i added more sherry, some white wine, old bay seasoning and a dash or two of worcestershire sauce to give it some taste and probably put in 2 cups of cooked lobster. after letting it simmer for almost an hour, we had more taste. i love my lobster. ended up with a good bisque, but wanted a fabulous bisque.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I would suggest that when making bisque, you allow it to mellow overnight. The flavors are much more intense when the lobster infuses the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I thought this recipe was horrible. I was highly disappointed with the way it turned out. As someone else stated, it tasted like warm milk with lobster cubes in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
I made this and shared it with my co-workers for an office luncheon... they have been begging me to make it again ever since!!! I added just a dash of cayenne to the recipe - just enough to add a little flavor and not a lot of heat. It was absolutely wonderful. Thank you. updated changes(8/17/07): added about a tblspoon of tomato paste before adding half and half; used cream sherry instead of dry sherry; added two slices of american cheese with the half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hardwick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Ware, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
I tried out this recipe a little while ago, and with a couple substitutions, it was great. Neither myself or my husband like onions so I omitted them, then added cayenne for a bit of a hot flick, and wow!!! I was amazed at how close it got to restaurant quality, if you like spice try the cayenne, its worth it:) thanks for the great recipe base!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
This was not at all what I was expecting. It is very easy to make, but there is no taste to it...AT ALL. I tried to spice it up by adding a can of creamy tomato soup. It helped a little, but not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
This was really bland, kind of like lobster meat floating in thickened milk. The best part about it was the lobster meat, which would have been better used in another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
Simple, Delicious and elegant! This was the perfiect second course for my light three course dinner on Valentine's Day! Thank-you! Rich, yet smooth and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
this is quick and easy recipe. It's not bad- If taste is not important to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States