Lobster Bisque I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2000
It is a wonderful Bisque that tastes great. The preparation is lengthy and the cooking time is likewise. The final product is wonderful, provided you have the time to prepare it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
Delectable, is what I would call this smooth and tasty recipe. I'm a good cook and I've never had the chance to make such a delicous lobster bisque such as this. My husband enjoyed it so much that he couldn't stop raving about it. Although, it takes a while to make but it's worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
I used diced canned tomatoes and pureed them, added it to the soup and tasted it, it was wonderful. I didn't have enough tomatoes to measure what the recipe called for so I said the heck with it, I'll add some tomato sauce. I learned a lesson. DON'T ADD TOMATO SAUCE! It makes it taste like tomato soup. But it was excellent with just the pureed diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texaskari22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evadale, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2001
What a fantastic bisque. I scaled it to 8 servings and it made more like 12. A couple of things that would make this soup a little faster to prepare..... Tie the parsely, bay leaf, peppercorns and lobster shells into cheesecloth and drop into soup when called for. Then you can just remove later. Secondly, you can use a submersion blender to puree the soup before adding the sherry and cream. This will give it a more traditional bisque look also. Great Soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
There is a lovely little restaraunt in Austin that makes a similar bisque. After tasting their bisque, I went on a quest to find the recipe. Well, the quest has ended. This is a top rated bisque.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
This recipe was easy and delicious, although I don't think it was thick enough. I left out the green onions and used a bit more lobster. Also, I added some chicken stock for flavor. Next time I will reduce the stock longer (I let it go for 1h15m and it still was a bit to thin).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Washington, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
Wonderful! My husband and I LOVE lobster bisque, and this was right up there with the best we've eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rancho Cordova, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
I may be the odd ball here, but this was not very good at all. Seems like it had too much tomato in it. The tomato way overpowered everthing else. It was just tomato soup with other stuff in it. My husband will eat almost anything. He didn't eat this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
This recipe was delicious- but I doctored it quite a bit. Great texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NATTYRO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States