Lobster Bisque I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2001
What a fantastic bisque. I scaled it to 8 servings and it made more like 12. A couple of things that would make this soup a little faster to prepare..... Tie the parsely, bay leaf, peppercorns and lobster shells into cheesecloth and drop into soup when called for. Then you can just remove later. Secondly, you can use a submersion blender to puree the soup before adding the sherry and cream. This will give it a more traditional bisque look also. Great Soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
This was delicious! I used wild slipper Lobster meat with no shell and instead of fish stock I used "Better than Boullion" Lobster base that I found at my local fish market. There is no fussing with the shells and the lobster was quite a bit less expensive too! Bon apetite. This makes closer to 6 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mussey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
Delectable, is what I would call this smooth and tasty recipe. I'm a good cook and I've never had the chance to make such a delicous lobster bisque such as this. My husband enjoyed it so much that he couldn't stop raving about it. Although, it takes a while to make but it's worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2000
It is a wonderful Bisque that tastes great. The preparation is lengthy and the cooking time is likewise. The final product is wonderful, provided you have the time to prepare it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
I used diced canned tomatoes and pureed them, added it to the soup and tasted it, it was wonderful. I didn't have enough tomatoes to measure what the recipe called for so I said the heck with it, I'll add some tomato sauce. I learned a lesson. DON'T ADD TOMATO SAUCE! It makes it taste like tomato soup. But it was excellent with just the pureed diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texaskari22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evadale, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
There is a lovely little restaraunt in Austin that makes a similar bisque. After tasting their bisque, I went on a quest to find the recipe. Well, the quest has ended. This is a top rated bisque.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
YUM! This bisque was phenomenal. The flavor was rich with a sweet, almost buttery aftertaste. My only complaint is that I couldn't get the lobster meat as "smooth" in the blender as the recipe calls for, but other than that it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I was looking for a recipe for leftover lobster and this is just what I wanted. It's a hit! Don't change a thing. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I was very intimidated by this recipe, so much so that I almost didn't make it. I'm SO glad I did! It was delicious. I couldn't find fish stock at my market so I went to an Asain market and found fish boullion instead. I only strained the stock once with a spaghetti strainer, and not for a second time with muslin. I used one cup of tomato puree because the biggest complaint in the reviews was a strong tomato flavor. I also reserved about 4 ounces of the lobster meat and cut it into chunks. I stirred it in at the very end. This was my first time using fresh tarragon... don't even think of trying this soup with out it! It adds a great licorice flavor. This was decadent and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Brava!!!! I had to tweek a bit due to what I had on hand but this ended up first rate. I used Better than Boullion Lobster Base, check Whole Foods, Central Market, or the like. (Don't even think about using the recipe on the jar) Use glass jar tomatoes or fresh to avoid the horrible "tin" taste, the skin and seeds strain out with everything else. I ended up with a bit more sherry and used half and half instead of heavy cream and fresh grated nutmeg then added a wee dash of cayenne, easy does it, the hot did intensify but added so much to the end result. I forgot to buy fresh tarragon so I added a pinch of dried every so often during the cooking process not wanting to over do it.I cannot wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States