Lobster Bisque I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Wonderful!! Like most users, I took some advice of others and tweaked with my additions to make it chunkier: 1) used chicken stock instead of fish stock; 2) used cheesecloth (or a flour sack dish towel from WalMart) to wrap lobster shells in and soak in broth so straining not necessary; 3) added 1/4 cup of minced celery to the onion and carrot; 4) also added 12 oz. package of frozen Bernard's peeled and cleaned crawfish tails (thawed, drained and rinsed) in addition to the two lobster tails; 5) added extra 2 Tbs corn starch dissolved in 1/3 C heavy cream and added to broth to make thicker. Whole family loved it! Served with Red Lobster mix cheddar bisquits. Plenty for 6 adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
turned out great i will make again. its a big ordeal to make though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
the taste of tomato covers up the seafood flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I am making this right now, it's simmering away on my stove and smells WONDERFUL!! :) Can't wait to try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I made this following the recipe to the letter. Biggest mistake was using fish stock. The bisque had great texture and I am sure if I had used chicken stock or just water instead it would have been great. It was so fishy we could not eat it. I love fish and seafood, but this was just too much. Just a shame to, but I know of no way to save it. Ray
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Average at best and IMO not woth the effort. Not even close to a top notch Bisque. As the recipie reads - I should have been blown away - it was really lacking something - and still cant figure out what it was. Wont make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Very good! I substituted crab for lobster, added about 1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper, omitted the sherry, and substituted heavy cream for whole milk to reduce the fat content a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crissy Nour

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This is sensational. My husband had seconds and licked the bowl. The only thing I did different was I added 3 tbsp of tomato paste instead of the tomato puree, this helped to thicken it, and 1 more tbsp of sherry and a little more cream. I put bigger lobster pieces in it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I don't know if I didn't blend it long enough or what, but it was like grits almost. I'm sure it was because of the flour mixture. the test was good but the consistency was off. Any suggestions on how to correct this are welcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
YUM! This bisque was phenomenal. The flavor was rich with a sweet, almost buttery aftertaste. My only complaint is that I couldn't get the lobster meat as "smooth" in the blender as the recipe calls for, but other than that it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States