Loaded Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I absolutely love this soup. It turned out perfect. To the person who posted about the soup being gritty, it's because the potatoes were over cooked. The only time that ever happens is if the potatoes to cooked for to long. They still need to be slightly firm. Another review about the sour cream seperating. If your flour, butter and milk becomes to hot and then you add cold sour cream to it you can curdle it and that can cause seperation. Food for thought. :) Delicious soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummyFoodLover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
We loved this soup. I noticed too that it wasn't as thick as I like potato soup so I added a little cornstach/water mixture and that helped. I did not have onions on hand but I did have green onions so I added those to the potatoes and had them boil with the potatoes( I boiled the potatoes instead of microwaving them), because I do not like crunchy onions in my soup. But it really did taste like a baked potato. I topped it with crumbled bacon and extra cheese. We will be making this allot for those cold winter nights. It is a great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
This didn't work out for me at all-I followed the recipe to a T and the consistency of the soup was gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
What a disappointment! I usually always read the reviews before investing time and money into a recipe. I also do not change any ingredients and then rate the recipe. If you change ingredients, you have made a totally different recipe and it is not fair to rate! Anyhow, I followed the recipe per directions with the exception of boiling potatoes instead of microwaving. Everything seemed great until I added the sour cream. The sour cream separated from the soup and was a big mess! Neither my husband nor I could get through it. Threw the whole pan out. I wouldn't suggest this recipe to anyone - big waste of time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
This recipe was great! I improvised a little and here were my changes: After adding the milk to the butter/flour cooked mixture (or roux), I added the seasoning packet from Uncle Ben's Long Grain & Wild Rice (the Original Recipe). It has 23 Herbs and Seasoning and made quite a tasty addtion to the flavor of this soup! I added 1 cup of cheddar cheese instead of 1/2 cup too. Other than those additions, I kept the recipe the same. It was sooooooooooooo good! Then I served it with real bacon bits and cheddar cheese on the side for those who wanted to add them. It was a hit and I will make this again for sure. Next time I want to add some cut up and cooked baby carrots to add more color and vitamins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boona

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Baked potato soup is a favorite at our house. It is always the first soup I make of the year. I try to use left over baked potatoes to save some time. I also like to mash some of the potatoes and leave some chunked to get a better consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
The recipe does have a few flaws. But if fixed this soup is a 5 star soup. I made it for my family and it was a big hit. First of all I prefer to boil the cubed potatoes vs microwaving them. They can cook while you do step 2. Second, after melting the butter, saute the onions until they are translucent and very soft. This will take the crunch factor out and add lots of flavor to the party. Third, when you whisk in the flour, continue whisking and cooking for a few minutes or until it is a blonde color. You're making a roux and it won't properly thicken the soup unless cook the flour. Once finished I served with an extra small dollop of sour cream, cheese, scallions and real bacon bits. Not great on the waist, I know, but oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
This was a pretty good potato soup and I will add it to my collection. I boiled the potatoes instead of microwaving and next time I think I will add the onions in with them. They were a little crunchy. Also, I don't recommend boiling milk. It curdles a little and it has to be stirred constantly or it burns. I would say this soup took more like 45 mins. to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
Great soup! I quartered the recipe and it still made a lot. I used dried onion but it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
Oh my gosh! This is the best-tasting (reminiscent of the Loaded Potato Soup at O'Charley's) and easiest potato soup recipe I've ever made! I took it one step further and added broccoli and bacon bits to he soup while it was cooking. My husband and my three children (all picky eaters) love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elwood, Indiana, USA
Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States