Loaded Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Anybody having a problem with this recipe needs to review how to make a rue. This is absolutely spot on and I wouldn't change a thing, oh so tasty. Only addition I made was three cloves of garlic but I put garlic on ice cream so thats a give in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
The recipe does have a few flaws. But if fixed this soup is a 5 star soup. I made it for my family and it was a big hit. First of all I prefer to boil the cubed potatoes vs microwaving them. They can cook while you do step 2. Second, after melting the butter, saute the onions until they are translucent and very soft. This will take the crunch factor out and add lots of flavor to the party. Third, when you whisk in the flour, continue whisking and cooking for a few minutes or until it is a blonde color. You're making a roux and it won't properly thicken the soup unless cook the flour. Once finished I served with an extra small dollop of sour cream, cheese, scallions and real bacon bits. Not great on the waist, I know, but oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I loved this recipe. I didn't have enough white potatoes so I made mine with half white and half sweet potatoes. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kiwigirl
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Easy to make with very little ingredients. Highly recommended and is great made in large quantity and frozen for later. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiwigirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
It had really good flavor (I added onion powder instead of the actual onions but kept everything else the same) BUT it was very gritty. Any suggestions for that??? I want to keep making it but I would prefer to have a smooth soup and not a gritty one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
A very good start to potato soup. I first tried it with just salt and pepper and it was much too bland. Onion powder, garlic powder, and minced garlic were added and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Comfort, Texas, USA
Living In: Henderson, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Don't get me wrong this was good...I have had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Very yummy soup. My family of pickie eater loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This recipe is great as is, but sometimes I use canned diced potatoes or boiled potatoes. Microwaved potatoes tend to lose their shape and make the soup sort of grainy (IMHO). I'm not quite sure some reviewers have had problems with this soup. I would think most would understand that you need to add the sour cream after the soup has cooled slightly; don't add while soup is simmering or it could cause separation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This recipe turned out great! My husband and I loved it. I made a few changes to it though. I used 6 cups milk and 2 cups half and half because I ran out of milk. I also fried up a 1/2 lb of bacon before cooking the rest of the recipe. After mixing the butter, flour, and milk and bringing to a boil, I added the bacon drippings. I also added some garlic salt. Finally, we chopped the cooked bacon and some green onions and used them as toppings for the soup. It turned out fantastic! I'll be making this again with the small changes mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Grimes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States