Loaded Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This recipe is great as is, but sometimes I use canned diced potatoes or boiled potatoes. Microwaved potatoes tend to lose their shape and make the soup sort of grainy (IMHO). I'm not quite sure some reviewers have had problems with this soup. I would think most would understand that you need to add the sour cream after the soup has cooled slightly; don't add while soup is simmering or it could cause separation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This recipe turned out great! My husband and I loved it. I made a few changes to it though. I used 6 cups milk and 2 cups half and half because I ran out of milk. I also fried up a 1/2 lb of bacon before cooking the rest of the recipe. After mixing the butter, flour, and milk and bringing to a boil, I added the bacon drippings. I also added some garlic salt. Finally, we chopped the cooked bacon and some green onions and used them as toppings for the soup. It turned out fantastic! I'll be making this again with the small changes mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Grimes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This was a great soup! My husband, who doesn't eat potato soup, absolutely loved it! The sour cream and cheese were the big difference in an otherwise bland soup. I did use a lot more cheese, however: for the normal recipe I increased it to 2 cups and also added 1 tsp of dill weed. I made double the recipe and it disappeared in two days. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANTIH9

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I have been making this soup for a couple of years. I just decided to write a review and to see what others were saying. This soup is the best. I always make it a day ahead so the flavors blend together. I add chopped green onion to the soup and serve it with green onion and bacon bits. Whenever there is a family get together I am asked to bring this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I tried this receipe and loved it! My family said it was the best potato soup they have ever tried. I did add some cheese, chopped green onions and bacon bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
This recipe was great! I improvised a little and here were my changes: After adding the milk to the butter/flour cooked mixture (or roux), I added the seasoning packet from Uncle Ben's Long Grain & Wild Rice (the Original Recipe). It has 23 Herbs and Seasoning and made quite a tasty addtion to the flavor of this soup! I added 1 cup of cheddar cheese instead of 1/2 cup too. Other than those additions, I kept the recipe the same. It was sooooooooooooo good! Then I served it with real bacon bits and cheddar cheese on the side for those who wanted to add them. It was a hit and I will make this again for sure. Next time I want to add some cut up and cooked baby carrots to add more color and vitamins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boona

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
The base for the soup was good, however, the potatoes were not done enough for me in the microwave, finished them in a pot of boiling water, coarsely mashed them and then added. Very hearty soup. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dawsonville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I didn't like this one. I was looking for a more mashed potato then chunky one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
the whole family loved this recipe. I added bacon into mine which was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States