Loaded Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Everyone absolutely loved this recipe. I agree with the previous post about the sour cream separating though. I think next time, I'll just put spoonfuls of sour cream in each serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This soup is very bland and too sweet. This is the first potato soup recipe I have ever tried that used only milk. I like the flavor chicken broth brings to a potato soup. Definately not worth the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This soup was so quick and easy. It was a hit in my family. Yes, it was a little thick, but overall it was a wonderful recipe. I added some more cheese, green onions, and real bacon bits and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This was so delicious! I'm a college student and I made it for 15 or so of my closest guy friends and they loved it! Instead of using regular baking potatoes(peeled) I used red roasting potatoes that i put in the oven at 400degrees with a little bit of olive oil and some different seasonings. If you leave the skin on and cut them up in to not too small pieces the soup is soooo hardy! Serve with plenty of bacon and cheese! Oh and pick up a french baget from the bakery...its probably the BEST potato soup I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Some curious reviews. Your basic potato soup is very bland so I look for something that has some difference. For this one, I think the sour cream and cheese are what did it, and I agree that no more than salt & pepper are needed. (Though the white pepper idea sounded good.) It wasn't "great" but it was pretty good & not just the normal bland. I didn't use the onions but everything else was as is. I did boil the potatoes, cause I think microwaved turn out badly. I simmered it longer than it said. This is one of those times I can't help but address some comments. Yes, it makes a lot - it does say 12 servings. (Although if you want a good bowlful like for lunch, it's more like 8-10 servings.) Don't know about the grittiness unless that's caused by nuking the potatoes. You also have to take things like "add gradually" literally, which can make a big difference. EDIT: Just made this again & would have given it a 3, but I generally don't knock a score down unless I can come to a concensus. But this time I have to agree w/the review that said it tasted like warmed milk & potatoes. Just seemed to have zero flavor no matter what I added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Anybody having a problem with this recipe needs to review how to make a rue. This is absolutely spot on and I wouldn't change a thing, oh so tasty. Only addition I made was three cloves of garlic but I put garlic on ice cream so thats a give in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
The recipe does have a few flaws. But if fixed this soup is a 5 star soup. I made it for my family and it was a big hit. First of all I prefer to boil the cubed potatoes vs microwaving them. They can cook while you do step 2. Second, after melting the butter, saute the onions until they are translucent and very soft. This will take the crunch factor out and add lots of flavor to the party. Third, when you whisk in the flour, continue whisking and cooking for a few minutes or until it is a blonde color. You're making a roux and it won't properly thicken the soup unless cook the flour. Once finished I served with an extra small dollop of sour cream, cheese, scallions and real bacon bits. Not great on the waist, I know, but oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I loved this recipe. I didn't have enough white potatoes so I made mine with half white and half sweet potatoes. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kiwigirl
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Easy to make with very little ingredients. Highly recommended and is great made in large quantity and frozen for later. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiwigirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
It had really good flavor (I added onion powder instead of the actual onions but kept everything else the same) BUT it was very gritty. Any suggestions for that??? I want to keep making it but I would prefer to have a smooth soup and not a gritty one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States