Loaded Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
My family loved this recipe. The leftovers were even better the next day after the soup had time to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci Clark Muse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I used this recipe for my first try at potato soup. It was super easy to make and tasted incredible!! The only thing I did different was add 2 cups of cheese instead of the 1/2 cup called for in the recipe, but I always add more cheese to everything. We had four crock pots of soup going the day I served this and this one was almost empty at the end of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This is DELICIOUS! I had baked some extra potatoes a few days ago with the intention of making baked potato soup. I followed this recipe EXCEPT instead of cooking the potatoes in the microwave, I just halved the baked potatoes I already had, scooped out the potato and roughly chopped it up, and tossed it into the soup with the onions. Superb!! One other thing I did was to stir in some crumbled bacon before serving. My boys, ranging in age from 2 to 15, all thought it was great. I highly recommend this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
My family absoluetly loves this soup!!! It takes a few steps to make it but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I may have done something wrong by cutting everything in half to make a smaller portion.. But it didn't turn out the way I thought it would.. It was VERY bland,, Tasted like eating warm thick milk with potatoes in it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
15 minutes to prepare my foot! It took forever. I followed the recipe exactly and the soup never thickened. Next time I'm just going straight to O'Charley's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Very good and thick. When I stirred in the sour cream it curdled a little. Did not look good but tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I can't believe I've overlooked writing a review on this delicious soup, as I've been making it for years. I'm not a big fan of microwaving the potatoes, as they become sticky, however it works in a pinch. Fortunately, I haven't had the separation issue with the sour cream, however, I generally add only 8 oz as well as an entire block of cream cheese. I like the creaminess it adds, not to mention that it blends well too. Like others, I definitely spruce up this soup with spices to taste. I throw bacon bits right in the soup (along with a generous serving for garnishment), and extra cheese. I forgot to add that I always make sure to finely dice the onions. This soup is easy, yummy, and filling. As a working mom, I can't ask for much more. Served with a slice of garlic bread, this satisfies on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Made this dish for the second time tonight! It was overall, EXCELLENT! I half the recipe since there are only two of us. It renders enough for second helpings, and 2 to 3 helpings for the next day too! I always toss in bacon bits into the soup itself, add a little more sour cream (yummy!) and cheddar cheese... I top it off with sour cream, cheese, green onions, and bacon bits! Perfection in a bowl! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by .:ashes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This soup is SO yummy! It is defidently one to tweak though. When whisking in the flour to the butter, you should mix the flour with some milk first so that you don't end up with flour chunks in the soup. I doubled the cheddar, added 16 oz. of bacon that I cooked minutes before hand, and used a cup and a half of onion instead of the measley 1/4 cup of onion suggested. Also, I added the potatoes and onions in with the milk so that they would cook completely. So worth it! It is so fast and easy to make, and (even with all of my additions!) cost around $2 for each meal for each person in my family of five. And that's including the $4 worth of Italian bread we bought to eat with it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States