Loaded Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Some curious reviews. Your basic potato soup is very bland so I look for something that has some difference. For this one, I think the sour cream and cheese are what did it, and I agree that no more than salt & pepper are needed. (Though the white pepper idea sounded good.) It wasn't "great" but it was pretty good & not just the normal bland. I didn't use the onions but everything else was as is. I did boil the potatoes, cause I think microwaved turn out badly. I simmered it longer than it said. This is one of those times I can't help but address some comments. Yes, it makes a lot - it does say 12 servings. (Although if you want a good bowlful like for lunch, it's more like 8-10 servings.) Don't know about the grittiness unless that's caused by nuking the potatoes. You also have to take things like "add gradually" literally, which can make a big difference. EDIT: Just made this again & would have given it a 3, but I generally don't knock a score down unless I can come to a concensus. But this time I have to agree w/the review that said it tasted like warmed milk & potatoes. Just seemed to have zero flavor no matter what I added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Anybody having a problem with this recipe needs to review how to make a rue. This is absolutely spot on and I wouldn't change a thing, oh so tasty. Only addition I made was three cloves of garlic but I put garlic on ice cream so thats a give in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
The recipe does have a few flaws. But if fixed this soup is a 5 star soup. I made it for my family and it was a big hit. First of all I prefer to boil the cubed potatoes vs microwaving them. They can cook while you do step 2. Second, after melting the butter, saute the onions until they are translucent and very soft. This will take the crunch factor out and add lots of flavor to the party. Third, when you whisk in the flour, continue whisking and cooking for a few minutes or until it is a blonde color. You're making a roux and it won't properly thicken the soup unless cook the flour. Once finished I served with an extra small dollop of sour cream, cheese, scallions and real bacon bits. Not great on the waist, I know, but oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I loved this recipe. I didn't have enough white potatoes so I made mine with half white and half sweet potatoes. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kiwigirl
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Easy to make with very little ingredients. Highly recommended and is great made in large quantity and frozen for later. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiwigirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
It had really good flavor (I added onion powder instead of the actual onions but kept everything else the same) BUT it was very gritty. Any suggestions for that??? I want to keep making it but I would prefer to have a smooth soup and not a gritty one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
A very good start to potato soup. I first tried it with just salt and pepper and it was much too bland. Onion powder, garlic powder, and minced garlic were added and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Comfort, Texas, USA
Living In: Henderson, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Don't get me wrong this was good...I have had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Very yummy soup. My family of pickie eater loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This recipe is great as is, but sometimes I use canned diced potatoes or boiled potatoes. Microwaved potatoes tend to lose their shape and make the soup sort of grainy (IMHO). I'm not quite sure some reviewers have had problems with this soup. I would think most would understand that you need to add the sour cream after the soup has cooled slightly; don't add while soup is simmering or it could cause separation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States