Loaded Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I really enjoyed this soup! I do not feed many people so I halved the recipe. I changed it up a little and added 1/2 cup of cooked broccoli and a bag of cubed ham and some green onions for taste. I added the onions in with the milk so they would cook a little more. I also boiled the potatoes. VERY good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
A wonderful comfort food on a cold day! Yum! I made it strictly by the recipe and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I absolutely love this soup. It turned out perfect. To the person who posted about the soup being gritty, it's because the potatoes were over cooked. The only time that ever happens is if the potatoes to cooked for to long. They still need to be slightly firm. Another review about the sour cream seperating. If your flour, butter and milk becomes to hot and then you add cold sour cream to it you can curdle it and that can cause seperation. Food for thought. :) Delicious soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummyFoodLover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This soup is amazing!!! Hearty and flavorful. I would recommend adding more time to cook at the later stages of preparation, but overall, this is an easy recipe, and a tasty soup for those cold winter days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
pretty good! I added a whole stick of butter, real baccon bits,scallons and more salt ,pepper, cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Everyone absolutely loved this recipe. I agree with the previous post about the sour cream separating though. I think next time, I'll just put spoonfuls of sour cream in each serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This soup is very bland and too sweet. This is the first potato soup recipe I have ever tried that used only milk. I like the flavor chicken broth brings to a potato soup. Definately not worth the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This soup was so quick and easy. It was a hit in my family. Yes, it was a little thick, but overall it was a wonderful recipe. I added some more cheese, green onions, and real bacon bits and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This was so delicious! I'm a college student and I made it for 15 or so of my closest guy friends and they loved it! Instead of using regular baking potatoes(peeled) I used red roasting potatoes that i put in the oven at 400degrees with a little bit of olive oil and some different seasonings. If you leave the skin on and cut them up in to not too small pieces the soup is soooo hardy! Serve with plenty of bacon and cheese! Oh and pick up a french baget from the bakery...its probably the BEST potato soup I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Some curious reviews. Your basic potato soup is very bland so I look for something that has some difference. For this one, I think the sour cream and cheese are what did it, and I agree that no more than salt & pepper are needed. (Though the white pepper idea sounded good.) It wasn't "great" but it was pretty good & not just the normal bland. I didn't use the onions but everything else was as is. I did boil the potatoes, cause I think microwaved turn out badly. I simmered it longer than it said. This is one of those times I can't help but address some comments. Yes, it makes a lot - it does say 12 servings. (Although if you want a good bowlful like for lunch, it's more like 8-10 servings.) Don't know about the grittiness unless that's caused by nuking the potatoes. You also have to take things like "add gradually" literally, which can make a big difference. EDIT: Just made this again & would have given it a 3, but I generally don't knock a score down unless I can come to a concensus. But this time I have to agree w/the review that said it tasted like warmed milk & potatoes. Just seemed to have zero flavor no matter what I added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States