Loaded Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
This soup recipe is awful. Not pleasing to the eye or palate. I almost dumped the entire pot in the trash. I decided to wait and search online tomorrow for other recipes and hopefully discover the missing ingredients that can save this poor sad soup...if you can even call it soup! Slop may be a better word.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
My family loved this soup. It is so cold out today it hit the spot. However, did it a little bit different than the recipe. I boiled the potatoes, and added in green onions and yellow onion. I just barely covered the potatoes with water. I only had 2 cups of milk to add to the flour and butter. But it worked. While the potatoes were boiling and almost done I mashed them a little bit. I drained just a little bit of the water then added them to the rue. Instead of using Cheddar cheese I used Velveeta Cheese (1 cup). Then added 3 large spoonfuls of the sour cream . Came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Very good soup but, I had to make some alterations in order to say that. I hate when people alter, then rate because rating should be based on the original recipe but, there was no way I was going to eat it as it was prior. I took the advice of another poster and boiled the potatoes first then drained very well. I also sauteed the onions to add more flavor to the soup and so they wouldn't have that "crunch" factor. Even after all of that, the soup was very watery and unflavored. I boiled it to thicken but it didn't work out as well as it should have. Didn't want to burn it so I let it simmer, cool down a bit and then added chicken bullion, garlic powder, onion powder and pepper. After adding the seasonings, it was delish. I will def make again and will try the original again because it very well just be a bad day on my part. Garnished with additional sour cream, shredded cheese, real bacon bits and scallions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Love it. I added cream cheese to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirklin, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I thought this was pretty good. I only used 6 cups of milk instead of 8 b/c I like my soup thicker. I also added some Italian seasoning, garlic powder, and a bay leaf. I did not add sour cream or cheese until I was serving the soup and also threw some hot sauce on it. Instead of microwaving the potatoes, I boiled them with the onion. Once tweaked, it was a good rainy day/cold weather soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BJPEMBO
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This recipe is good, but I rarely cook anything without putting my own twist on it. In this case I felt the base was a little bit bland so I added some garlic to taste and I added about 2 cups of sharp cheddar cheese instead of the half cup called for. To avoid the separation issue with the sour cream I added it before the milk reached boiling and ended up with a smooth creamy base that did not curdle or separate. Then I added the onions and let them cook a little longer than called for. Finally I added the potatoes and the 2 cups of cheese. Topped with a little pile of bacon crumbles, more cheddar and some green onion tops. Turned out to be excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJPEMBO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monticello, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I really liked this soup. I also boiled the potatoes instead of microwaving. Left them just a bit firmer than if I were mashing them. In hindsight, I would have let the sour cream come to room temp, though. I added slowly but it still was difficult to incorporate and get smooth. Didn't affect the taste but sometimes you live and learn. I would love a little more spice or even some cooked carrot shavings or tiny broccoli florets for options next time. But the recipe is great as is too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This soup is delicious! I boil the potatoes instead of placing in microwave and after the soup is done, place in the crockpot on warm so the teenagers in our house can enjoy all afternoon and into the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This was great! It is a wonderful recipe got bonding as well with children. My niece enjoyed cooking it and my daughter loved the consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
My family loved this recipe. The leftovers were even better the next day after the soup had time to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci Clark Muse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States