Loaded Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
made it tonight for dinner with some warm bread.....everyone loved it..this is surely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Couch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Deputy, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This is a good recipe! I will def make again. Idid however add bacon to it during cooking and after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate GR
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
This turned out great for my family!! My husband, who I found out later didn't like these types of soups, actually went back for seconds, so I consider that a win! Things I did differently: 1) I boiled the potatoes in salt water instead of microwaving them. 2) I added the onion to the butter in the beginning to soften them and help release liquid and flavor for adding the flour. 3) I had the milk/butter/flour mixture simmer on low while stirring a little longer to reach my desired consistency. The extra time also helps some of the "raw flour taste" cook out better and prevents milk curdling. 4) GARLIC! The original recipe is good enough, but there is always room for garlic in our book. I added a few teaspoons of minced garlic when I added the onion. 5) I DID NOT add the sour cream nor the cheese until the soup was served up and ready to head to the table. That way, my husband and son could add each ingredient to their tastes. 6) I also added some fresh chopped green onions and crumbled bacon to the top. Again to each person's taste at the end. Since my cooking changes involved a little more time, this brought the cooking time to about 45 minutes to an hour, but the results were WELL WORTH the effort. Anytime I can get my husband to love something he previously hated it is worth all the effort. Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate GR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Loved it but my potatoes did not cook well so I ended blending most of it but my family just simply loved the soup and flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
my favorite potato soup ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
We love this soup,always good,only changes I make are I used canned potatoes and also added a package of real bacon bits, even quicker to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
To thicken your potato soup you can add mashed potatoes or instant flakes and instead of all that milk I use chicken broth and a can of evaporated milk, kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I used this recipe twice. First time I followed it thoroughly even though I knew there was a flaw - or a wrong phrasing mistake inducing. It was indeed blend and gritty. The flaw was temperature should be immediately lower when milk reaches boiling point and you NEVER boil cream (it curds). Second time, I doubled the onions, added garlic, skipped the milk and used cornstach instead. I added the cream at the very last moment and carefully avoided boiling just before and after that. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doridar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
It's a keeper! A wonderful thick and chunky soup! However, to prevent the soup from curdling, I did allow the mixture to cool off the burner for a little while before adding the cold sour cream and cheese. I think this also helped the soup to thicken up. Also, don't over-microwave your potato cubes, just cook until soft, but still hold their form. I also added a full cup of shredded cheese instead of 1/2 cup. Garnish with bacon bits, more shredded cheese and chives on top before serving and it looks great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
was alright followed some of the other reviews still made own changes as I made this. Will make again reheat was even okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Brassfield

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States