Loaded Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
With not much time left before lunch, this recipe caught my eye. Microwaving the potatoes worked ok for me in a pinch. I stirred frequently and tossed them in a little butter to keep them from sticking together so much. I also sprinkled them with salt, pepper, & garlic powder for flavor. I used 1/2 milk & 1/2 chicken broth and added bacon and extra cheese. I liked the texture. Reviewers wanting more of a mashed potato texture might try mashing some of the potatoes before adding to the soup base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
easy, needs additions for flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Belton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This soup was very good! We doubled the cheese just because you can not have too much cheese! I also used regular baking potatoes instead of red potatoes. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Youngsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wlisa2u
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
My son said it was the best soup he'd ever had. I changed the recipe up a little. I nixed the onion and replaced with green onion. I doubled the recipe and in the finally prep with the sour cream I added 2 cups of cheddar cheese. Like other in this forum, I also boiled the potatoes first (but left firm). If you add pepper, I would suggest white pepper. Real bacon bits are a must, just get the one's from the salad section in your local store. My photo is the close-up of soup in the yellow bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wlisa2u

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This is the best recipe for working moms. It's literally done in 30 minutes. It's as good as it is easy. Love love love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I really enjoyed this soup! I do not feed many people so I halved the recipe. I changed it up a little and added 1/2 cup of cooked broccoli and a bag of cubed ham and some green onions for taste. I added the onions in with the milk so they would cook a little more. I also boiled the potatoes. VERY good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
A wonderful comfort food on a cold day! Yum! I made it strictly by the recipe and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I absolutely love this soup. It turned out perfect. To the person who posted about the soup being gritty, it's because the potatoes were over cooked. The only time that ever happens is if the potatoes to cooked for to long. They still need to be slightly firm. Another review about the sour cream seperating. If your flour, butter and milk becomes to hot and then you add cold sour cream to it you can curdle it and that can cause seperation. Food for thought. :) Delicious soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummyFoodLover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This soup is amazing!!! Hearty and flavorful. I would recommend adding more time to cook at the later stages of preparation, but overall, this is an easy recipe, and a tasty soup for those cold winter days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
pretty good! I added a whole stick of butter, real baccon bits,scallons and more salt ,pepper, cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States