Loaded Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
15 minutes to prepare my foot! It took forever. I followed the recipe exactly and the soup never thickened. Next time I'm just going straight to O'Charley's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Very good and thick. When I stirred in the sour cream it curdled a little. Did not look good but tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I can't believe I've overlooked writing a review on this delicious soup, as I've been making it for years. I'm not a big fan of microwaving the potatoes, as they become sticky, however it works in a pinch. Fortunately, I haven't had the separation issue with the sour cream, however, I generally add only 8 oz as well as an entire block of cream cheese. I like the creaminess it adds, not to mention that it blends well too. Like others, I definitely spruce up this soup with spices to taste. I throw bacon bits right in the soup (along with a generous serving for garnishment), and extra cheese. I forgot to add that I always make sure to finely dice the onions. This soup is easy, yummy, and filling. As a working mom, I can't ask for much more. Served with a slice of garlic bread, this satisfies on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Made this dish for the second time tonight! It was overall, EXCELLENT! I half the recipe since there are only two of us. It renders enough for second helpings, and 2 to 3 helpings for the next day too! I always toss in bacon bits into the soup itself, add a little more sour cream (yummy!) and cheddar cheese... I top it off with sour cream, cheese, green onions, and bacon bits! Perfection in a bowl! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by .:ashes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This soup is SO yummy! It is defidently one to tweak though. When whisking in the flour to the butter, you should mix the flour with some milk first so that you don't end up with flour chunks in the soup. I doubled the cheddar, added 16 oz. of bacon that I cooked minutes before hand, and used a cup and a half of onion instead of the measley 1/4 cup of onion suggested. Also, I added the potatoes and onions in with the milk so that they would cook completely. So worth it! It is so fast and easy to make, and (even with all of my additions!) cost around $2 for each meal for each person in my family of five. And that's including the $4 worth of Italian bread we bought to eat with it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This soup was DELICIOUS! It was definitely the closest thing to oCharleys potato soup! I did change a few things. I made the roux with chicken stock instead of milk, and I probably added twice as much shredded cheese than the recipe calls for. My family loves it! Lol. Garlic salt adds a wonderful flavor to it too! I served it with hawaiian dinner rolls. Mm mm my belly is happy! You've got to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
did lots to doctor, still bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This soup separated and curdled. I went exactly by the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This recipe worked great for me!Ii highly recomanded!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
it was gritty and I followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States