Loaded Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
My whole family really liked this soup. I thought it was great but needed something extra maybe some broccoli but that would of been a whole different soup. It was easy to make though and filling with just one bowl for a family of 5 we will have some leftovers for tomorrow. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This recipe is excellent! I did as others, and boiled potatoes first...also added onion to butter and sauteed before adding flour to rue. Otherwise..all measurements as stated. Turned out nice and creamy..not runny at all like others had problems with. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
For all those people who complained about it being gritty, you need to turn the heat down. I really enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
We LOVE this recipe! I served this soup to guests and they insisted on the recipe too. This is our favorite winter meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I have made loaded baked potato soup before. I read the reviews and decided to give this recipe a try. It was so bland and was runny. There wasnt enough pepper that I could have added. I don't know how others manged to get this recipe to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Caledonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Now I have eaten my moms potato soup for many years. But sadly I never learned how to make it before she passed. Yesterday was my dads bday and that's what he wanted. I found this recipe and it seemed easy. I boiled my potatoes instead and not so much milk. I also didn't put the cheese in it because my dad want it in his. I thought this was a big batch..only have a small bowl left. I am very impressed and will make it more! Might make it again today because I was sick and didn't get to enjoy it like I should of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
We liked the soup very well as a cream of potato soup before adding the sour cream and cheese. Once the sour cream was added, it overpowered the whole thing and it just tasted like warm sour cream. In the future, we will be omitting the sour cream and doubling the cheese or using a sharper cheddar for a more pronounced flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Alford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Delicious... for people who are finding it gritty: you are not making the roux correctly. You must begin with low heat and the mixture must be stirred constantly to avoid scorching the flour. Start by melting the butter over low heat. When the foaming begins to subside, add the flour and stir constantly, watching the color of the mixture. It should become a light, nutty brown color. This may take five minutes or so. Do not go by the clock, but rather by the color. If the process is stopped too soon, while still white, it will taste like raw flour and be gritty. If it gets too brown, the flour has scorched and it will taste burnt. It's a science, really! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Just find a different recipe. Neh. This is how I would describe this recipe. I guess I was expecting everything to be mixed together (bacon, cheese, scallions, etc.) I don't know if it was my fault, but I was expecting creamy. I got lumpy, starchy . :( I would recommend not wasting your time and effort. I mean, if you want to try it, go ahead. My experience wasn't good, and I won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lunar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
This soup recipe is awful. Not pleasing to the eye or palate. I almost dumped the entire pot in the trash. I decided to wait and search online tomorrow for other recipes and hopefully discover the missing ingredients that can save this poor sad soup...if you can even call it soup! Slop may be a better word.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States