Loaded Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
We love this soup,always good,only changes I make are I used canned potatoes and also added a package of real bacon bits, even quicker to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
To thicken your potato soup you can add mashed potatoes or instant flakes and instead of all that milk I use chicken broth and a can of evaporated milk, kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I used this recipe twice. First time I followed it thoroughly even though I knew there was a flaw - or a wrong phrasing mistake inducing. It was indeed blend and gritty. The flaw was temperature should be immediately lower when milk reaches boiling point and you NEVER boil cream (it curds). Second time, I doubled the onions, added garlic, skipped the milk and used cornstach instead. I added the cream at the very last moment and carefully avoided boiling just before and after that. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doridar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
It's a keeper! A wonderful thick and chunky soup! However, to prevent the soup from curdling, I did allow the mixture to cool off the burner for a little while before adding the cold sour cream and cheese. I think this also helped the soup to thicken up. Also, don't over-microwave your potato cubes, just cook until soft, but still hold their form. I also added a full cup of shredded cheese instead of 1/2 cup. Garnish with bacon bits, more shredded cheese and chives on top before serving and it looks great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
was alright followed some of the other reviews still made own changes as I made this. Will make again reheat was even okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
My whole family really liked this soup. I thought it was great but needed something extra maybe some broccoli but that would of been a whole different soup. It was easy to make though and filling with just one bowl for a family of 5 we will have some leftovers for tomorrow. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This recipe is excellent! I did as others, and boiled potatoes first...also added onion to butter and sauteed before adding flour to rue. Otherwise..all measurements as stated. Turned out nice and creamy..not runny at all like others had problems with. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
For all those people who complained about it being gritty, you need to turn the heat down. I really enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
We LOVE this recipe! I served this soup to guests and they insisted on the recipe too. This is our favorite winter meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I have made loaded baked potato soup before. I read the reviews and decided to give this recipe a try. It was so bland and was runny. There wasnt enough pepper that I could have added. I don't know how others manged to get this recipe to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Caledonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States