Loaded Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Oh boy, good soup! I left out the onion and added scallions instead and topped with crispy bacon and cheddar. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
Oh yeah! This is what I was looking for, as my entire family is just sick & tired of beef (due to the fact that we eaten it everyday for the past week) this was a nice change. I think that next time I will add bacon as well. I found that by using the fine or fancy shredded cheese elimanates the "grittyness" (well it did for me anyway). YUM, thanks Claire!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
We loved this soup. I noticed too that it wasn't as thick as I like potato soup so I added a little cornstach/water mixture and that helped. I did not have onions on hand but I did have green onions so I added those to the potatoes and had them boil with the potatoes( I boiled the potatoes instead of microwaving them), because I do not like crunchy onions in my soup. But it really did taste like a baked potato. I topped it with crumbled bacon and extra cheese. We will be making this allot for those cold winter nights. It is a great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
This was and INCREDIBLE soup! My entire family LOVED it! I made it it my biggest pot but couldn't put the entire amount of milk so I used 1 less cup of milk and added it to the leftovers. I also added some bacon! It did take longer than 7-10 minutes to microwave the potatoes though, but I almost think it would be better to boil them. I think that's what I'll do next time! MAKE THIS YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
Oh WOW! What a great recipe! Having read some of the other posts I got the idea to use half butter and half bacon grease. It was fabulous. I scaled the recipe to four serving and was sorry I did. Now I have to share! One thing I should bring up is this, make sure your potatoes are nice and done before adding them in. I got in too big a hurry and had to wait for them to finish cooking in the pot. Try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Heights, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
My husband and I really disliked this potato soup. First, it was too thick. But the biggest dislike was it was way too bland. We added bacon bits, and more salt and pepper, and it didn't help a bit. This recipe needs major doctoring with seasonings. I will not be fixing this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
This is a great recipe! I had been looking for a good, basic potato soup recipe and this is it. I halved the recipe and used redskin potatos and left the skins on. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
Very easy flavorful recipe. I've shared this with my sister and she thinks it's a great recipe too. I've seen more complicated recipes for this type of soup with many more ingredients but this tasted great. Thank you, Claire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
Quick and hearty, it's the best I've ever had! Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
This didn't work out for me at all-I followed the recipe to a T and the consistency of the soup was gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States