Loaded Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
This is just plain WONDERFUL! I doubled the recipe which makes a lot, so I gave some to family and they loved it too. I put in more onions and put them in the milk while it was cooking; I added a package of instant garlic & herb mashed potatoes which thickened it more, I put in some garlic powder and I added a lot more cheese cause it makes a killer cheesey potato soup. You can't just fix this and leave it on the stove, you have to stick with it, but it's worth it. It has endless possibilities for those of you who are creative. Best of all, I learned to fix potates without getting them too soft by microwaving them, now I can make potato salad! Thank you Claire, this one is a real jewel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
My husband does the cooking, but I made this all by myself and to everyone's surprise they loved it ! It was easy and ooohhh so good! Thanks and who cares if I had to cook the potatos a little longer it was well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
Yum- What a hearty bowl of soup! My hungry brother came over and was stuffed after one helping. I added celery and some extra onion, and it turned out fab. I think parsley would be a great garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
My teenage daughter (who doesn't cook!) made this tonight, and WOW! It was awesome! Thick, creamy, hearty, and smooth. She added broccoli. We needed to add a bit of salt, and perfection in a bowl! This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
EVERYONE LOVED THIS!!! The potatoes didnt get quite done in the microwave so it took a little longer that I had anticipated but It was well worth it. I also added Bacos. It gave it a wonderful taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
My friends said I needed to make this again. everyone loved it, I didn't stir in the cheese but left in on the side .. Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
This was a pretty good potato soup and I will add it to my collection. I boiled the potatoes instead of microwaving and next time I think I will add the onions in with them. They were a little crunchy. Also, I don't recommend boiling milk. It curdles a little and it has to be stirred constantly or it burns. I would say this soup took more like 45 mins. to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
Great soup! I quartered the recipe and it still made a lot. I used dried onion but it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Oh boy, good soup! I left out the onion and added scallions instead and topped with crispy bacon and cheddar. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
Oh yeah! This is what I was looking for, as my entire family is just sick & tired of beef (due to the fact that we eaten it everyday for the past week) this was a nice change. I think that next time I will add bacon as well. I found that by using the fine or fancy shredded cheese elimanates the "grittyness" (well it did for me anyway). YUM, thanks Claire!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States