Loaded Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
I really Liked this soup! Although, I am one for veggies. I made a Marque, of 1 whole onion, 3 celery stalks, 2 garlic cloves and 1&1/2 cut up carrots. I then let them simmer in some veggie broth to soften and I boiled my potatoes as I made the rest. I also added salt, pepper, garlic powder, and dried parsley to my roux and let it cook for awhile to get a pretty gold like color, that way I knew it thickened and didnt taste so flour like. WHen I strained my potatoes, I also strained the veggies that I added. I cooked with a handful extra cheese and I added some onion powder and more salt and pepper to the sauce. Also, I did not use bacon bits, but cooked cut up ham steak. It was really good. Everyone at my home loved it!! Amazing!!! I will make this again for sure! I may even add some broccoli to it. Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Adame

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Tried this the first time per the recipe, even though I had some reservations about it (which turned out to be justified), and it was only okay. The second time I made it, I revised it and it was a hit. To begin with, don't substitute margarine or oil for butter. Butter and milk mix well together, but margarine/oil doesn't. DO NOT boil/microwave the potatoes. A loaded potato at a steakhouse is never going to be microwaved. EVER! Double the cheddar, and stir it in BEFORE you stir in the potatoes and onion. Save the sour cream for absolute last. Stir that in and only heat through, don't boil. It's not going to curdle if the soup is really hot. Has it ever curdled in your piping hot baked potato? Of course not! It's just that if it's cooked for a length of time, it will be strange. Add crumbled cooked bacon and some extra cheese on top when serving, along with some chopped chives. That adds a tremendous flavor to it. Finally, when we have baked potatoes earlier in the week for dinner, I simply make extra potatoes (I buy them by the bag and invariably there are a bunch of small ones, those are my soup potatoes), wrap them up and put them in the refrigerator until soup day. A cold baked potatoes is super easy to cube and the flavor is still fresh once it's heated in the soup. Just throw them in cold and heat the soup as directed. Trust me, this is the way to go. Happy Eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagnoliaSouth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
We love this. We alter a little with seasonings, more cheese, and bacon but all in all it is an excellent dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Brock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Definitely make sure potatoes are cooked enough...trying to soften them once all is together is impossible without adding extra of everything else to compensate for the longer cooking time. I also added already cooked bacon while simmering and some garlic salt for extra flavor. All in all, GREAT soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Fantastic soup, added more cheese than on recipe but great food,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I made this recipe today but I did a few things a little different. And it came out delicious! Thanks for this easy recipe, and I'm looking forward to making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Mason

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Love this as a base recipe. When in a pinch I will use a bag of frozen diced hash browns and just simmer a few extra minutes. I also add the onions to the butter first to make sure they are nice & soft. Not enough cheese for me either so I add more & I've substituted Colby & it's relish. Last I add bacon bits in instead of just as a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
It was a good soup if you're just wanting potato soup, but I prefer soup with lot more flavor than this did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashell Dotson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lj5
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
My family loved this! So creamy and cheesy. To make the soup a little richer, i used 4 cups of heavy cream and 4 cups of milk. Also instead of cheddar, i used Melt and Dip (generic Velveeta). The bacon is awesome on top of this. Kinda like the icing on the cake. Def a go to recipe for those cold winter days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Made this soup today it was FANTASTIC!! Definitely will be making this again only addition I made was I added some bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States