Loaded Mashed Potato Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
great! made a few modifications. No bacon, used ham & less flour. Don't mess with them while they are cooking or they fall apart. Leave em be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
The ratio's made a perfect potato pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I made this from mashed i had left from xmas dinner and they loved them all i added was a little red and yellow pepper, didnt change pans and hand formed the patties a little messy but what is when made with love, will do them many more times i am sure:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry Fisico

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Wanted to make a slightly faster version, so I substituted celery salt, onion powder, and garlic powder for the fresh veggies and it worked great. Used sharp cheddar to give a bit more cheesy kick. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I made this recipe the other day when I had leftover potatoes from another meal. I didn't have celery, so didn't use it and cut down on the flour to 1/2 cup and cheese to 1/2 cup to cut calories and they were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Excellent Recipe! After reading other reviews, it made sense to cut back on flour and use more potatoes. Used cheddar cheese. Used bacon bits and had a little previously reserved bacon grease to cook vegetables. Topped cooked patties similar to photo with sour cream, cheddar cheese, bacon bits and chives. The family loved it. Saving it with our favorite recipes and looking forward to left over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Great brunch food. Topped with a fried egg. Very Yummy as written. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I used all of the ingredients in this recipe, but adjusted the quantities. At least in this house, there's no way that 1-1/4 cups of mashed potatoes will yield 4 servings as a side dish, so I used what I had in the fridge, 2 cups. Also, even with 2 cups of potatoes, 3/4 cup flour is too much. I didn't want to be tasting the flour in my potato cakes, so that was adjusted downward. And I didn't use nearly the fat listed in this recipe. After cooking the bacon, there was a lot of grease in the skillet, so I poured out quite a bit of it and added about 1 tbsp of butter to the pan (wanted the butter for the flavor). There still was a little bit of fat in my non-stick ceramic skillet after the veggies were cooked, so I just browned my cakes in there, didn't start over with a clean skillet and more oil; that worked great, and they browned beautifully. I think all of the ingredients are there for outstanding mashed potato cakes, but you'll just need to adjust them to your personal tastes. For example, next time, I'll add more hot sauce for just a little more zing of spiciness. Good recipe, just needs some customization.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
It needed salt! I added some to the water and additional in the mix. Still needed a little more but next time I make this, I know how much to add!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Made this yesterday and it turned out very mussy, i pan fry them with medium heat and it just wont shape up. Almost impossible to flip because its so mussy it just wont flip. Tried again this morning with less batter, still same result. What am i missing or doing wrong? I followed the recipe as close as i can already
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States