Loaded Mashed Potato Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
I had leftover mashed potatoes from last night and im so tired of waisting them and tossing them out because no one in my family will eat them so I thought this recipe would be Great! They turned out wonderful! Way better then i expected! i never measured the bacon,onion or cheese just eye balled it to my taste and before frying i coated the patties in panko bread crumbs Soooooo Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Very good. I had to add more flour to mine though to get them to stay together. My first two batches were a mushy mess. I also added about 1/4 cup of minced pepperoncini instead of the hot sauce and some garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Mae

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Wow, these were excellent! Didn't have an egg so I used ground flax seed. I also couldn't bring myself to add butter to the bacon grease, the grease alone was enough to fry the veggies in without the added fat and cholesterol. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Not for us.. sorry. Weird texture and not much taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by Roger Stradley
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I read all the reviews and lowered the flour by half. I increased the potatoes by a half a cup. I should have used a bit more garlic and salt. I can't use real unions here so I need to find something to put a little zip into it. BUT, I did like the results and will definitely add this to my recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger Stradley
Home Town: Hodgenville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I liked it it was my first time making that kind of stuff but what I did was I mixed the sour cream and cheese and bacon then I fried it up into patties it was good thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Wow! These were so yummy! My changes, I did not use egg, used cheddar and bacon bits. No onion or celery, but used garlic powder...wow! Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa margitan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Had leftover simply mashed potatoes, about 2 cups. Used 1/2 c flour, but next time will decrease to 1/4 cup. Used a handful of mozzarella cheese that I wanted to use up. Seasoned with salt and pepper and egg. Browned in a little butter 5 min on each side. Served with a dollop of sour cream and a little chopped fresh onions. Served with eggs and turkey sausage for breakfast. Much simpler version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
These were delicious! One of the best recipes I've ever made. I will definitely make them again. I read some of the previous reviews and followed some of the changes made: doubled the amount of potatoes and used less flour (I used 2 cups of potatoes and 1/2 cup of flour) When I was frying the first batch they started to fall apart a little so I added a little bit more flour to the mixture I had left). The second batch came out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I make these all the time, minus the celery, and they always turn out beautifully. For those that say they are mushy or doughy, you're probably cooking them on too high of heat. Mine take approximately 5-6 minutes per side and they get fluffy inside and crisp outside. Do not reduce flour or egg, they act as binders and reducing them means your potato cakes with disintegrate as you cook them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States