Lo Mein Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
This is a great base recipe, but I felt the need to make some additions: 1/2 green bell pepper (cut into thin strips, added to my wok with the rest of the vegetables); 2 cloves of garlic, minced (added during the last minute of stir-frying the vegetables); about 1 Tbs. toasted sesame oil (tossed with the cooked and drained spaghetti--did not rinse with water); and 1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes (I like it a little spicy). I did not change the sauce recipe at all, there was no need to do so. I also chopped up some roasted peanuts for sprinkling (my sister's request). I will make this recipe again and again and sometimes add a protein to the noodles to make it more hearty. Thank you, SarBetEns, for this very good base recipe for a great lo mein dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This is a great lo mein recipe! I subbed cabbage for the celery, but otherwise followed the recipe. Very, very well received at our house tonight,, from the 4 year old on up! Thanks so much for sharing this keeper, SarBetEns!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Delicious! When I was mixing up the sauce and tasted it, I wasn't sure, but after combining everything together, it was wonderful! I did use 1/2 sesame oil and 1/2 veg oil, b/c I love sesame oil. Oh, and I doubled the recipe, so there would be plenty for leftovers. This a so simple to make...a definite keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
What a great sauce! I would definitely double it next time. Added black pepper and white pepper at the end and mixed it. It could use a little heat like chili garlic or chili oil. For the teriyaki sauce, we always have veri veri teriyaki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
just made this recipe, Sept 26 2013 I love it!!! added diced chicken breast otherwise I made it as written very, very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This was great! I didn't have honey on hand so I added two tbsp of brown sugar and at the end added two packets of equal. I used thinly sliced cabbage and white onion because I had it on hand. I love garlic so I tossed in some minced garlic. Paired with chicken marinated in Lawrys sesame ginger marinade this was a delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
We all really loved these noodles, a perfect blend of flavors. I liked the subtle sweetness the honey added. I followed the recipe as written with the exception of also adding in a red sweet bell pepper with the other vegetables, and salt and white pepper while stir frying the vegetables. Easy enough and great side dish for any Asian main meal. I think any vegetable you have on hand would work with these noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
These noodles were great! I didn't have any teriyaki so used a bit of balsamic instead. I baked some chicken in a mixture of the honey, balsamic and soy with ginger and then I cut it up and finished it off in the pan and added to the noodles. I paired this recipe with the awesome egg roll recipe which I love. I agree when stir frying the veggies start with carrots as they take longer. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Made this last night and it was great, but i did double the teriyaki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Excellent! Quick and easy. I don't like celery and carrots, so instead used broccoli and shrimp along with the sweet onion. I had to make the sauce twice as one serving wasn't enough to cover the spaghetti and I didn't even use a whole pack of spaghetti, but even so, it was delicious. Maybe a tad too salty but that's my fault. I didn't have any low-sodium soy sauce on hand. Next time I make it, I'll also use mushrooms. Oh, and I used olive oil instead of vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dommiedime

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States