Lo Mein Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Next time, I will start stir frying the carrots before adding the other vegetables. They took longer to cook, and as a result, the other veggies overcooked. I added grilled shrimp to make this an entree (used the marinade from Surf and Turf for Two from this site) and some red bell pepper slices to give it a little more color. Was concerned that I may need to thicken the sauce, but that wasn't the case. Enjoyed and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Delicious! When I was mixing up the sauce and tasted it, I wasn't sure, but after combining everything together, it was wonderful! I did use 1/2 sesame oil and 1/2 veg oil, b/c I love sesame oil. Oh, and I doubled the recipe, so there would be plenty for leftovers. This a so simple to make...a definite keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
This is a great base recipe, but I felt the need to make some additions: 1/2 green bell pepper (cut into thin strips, added to my wok with the rest of the vegetables); 2 cloves of garlic, minced (added during the last minute of stir-frying the vegetables); about 1 Tbs. toasted sesame oil (tossed with the cooked and drained spaghetti--did not rinse with water); and 1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes (I like it a little spicy). I did not change the sauce recipe at all, there was no need to do so. I also chopped up some roasted peanuts for sprinkling (my sister's request). I will make this recipe again and again and sometimes add a protein to the noodles to make it more hearty. Thank you, SarBetEns, for this very good base recipe for a great lo mein dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
We all really loved these noodles, a perfect blend of flavors. I liked the subtle sweetness the honey added. I followed the recipe as written with the exception of also adding in a red sweet bell pepper with the other vegetables, and salt and white pepper while stir frying the vegetables. Easy enough and great side dish for any Asian main meal. I think any vegetable you have on hand would work with these noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Excellent! Quick and easy. I don't like celery and carrots, so instead used broccoli and shrimp along with the sweet onion. I had to make the sauce twice as one serving wasn't enough to cover the spaghetti and I didn't even use a whole pack of spaghetti, but even so, it was delicious. Maybe a tad too salty but that's my fault. I didn't have any low-sodium soy sauce on hand. Next time I make it, I'll also use mushrooms. Oh, and I used olive oil instead of vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dommiedime

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
First, I never try anything on this website that has very few reviews. But, I took a risk, and it worked out. This is a solid recipe, and very simple. The sauce (consisting of teriyaki, soy, honey, & ginger) could probably be used for any stir-fry or marinade. I ended up using it for the Lo Mein noodles. I added a little rice vinegar and sesame oil to taste (once everything was combined), due to personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailie1
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was quick and easy, not to mention, delicious. I doubled the sauce like others suggested, other than the ginger, because I don't care for a strong ginger taste. I couldn't even taste it, so I could have used the extra ¼ tsp and been fine. My green onions were quite large so I added the whites along with the sauce and noodles, then saved the green parts to sprinkle on top of each serving, along with some slivered onions. Yum! UPDATE: We eat this pretty regularly, but I usually add extra veggies. It just depends what I have on hand; quartered and sliced zucchini, small broccoli florets, red peppers, just use whatever your family enjoys! I don't usually change the sauce because it's delicious as is, but once in awhile I'll add a tablespoon of lime juice. I also use ½ veg (canola) oil and ½ sesame oil when stir-frying, for a little more flavor. It's very versatile, but delicious as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I made this recipe and loved it! I've never made lo mein at home before this. I mostly followed the recipe other than the ginger, onions & celery. I didn't have these as I don't like them so I added broccoli & fresh sweet corn and at the last minute some crab meat. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I made this recipe as directed with the addition of a shredded rotisserie chicken at the very end to make it more of a meal. It was average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
These noodles were great! I didn't have any teriyaki so used a bit of balsamic instead. I baked some chicken in a mixture of the honey, balsamic and soy with ginger and then I cut it up and finished it off in the pan and added to the noodles. I paired this recipe with the awesome egg roll recipe which I love. I agree when stir frying the veggies start with carrots as they take longer. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States