Lo Mein Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Next time, I will start stir frying the carrots before adding the other vegetables. They took longer to cook, and as a result, the other veggies overcooked. I added grilled shrimp to make this an entree (used the marinade from Surf and Turf for Two from this site) and some red bell pepper slices to give it a little more color. Was concerned that I may need to thicken the sauce, but that wasn't the case. Enjoyed and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Delicious! When I was mixing up the sauce and tasted it, I wasn't sure, but after combining everything together, it was wonderful! I did use 1/2 sesame oil and 1/2 veg oil, b/c I love sesame oil. Oh, and I doubled the recipe, so there would be plenty for leftovers. This a so simple to make...a definite keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
This is a great base recipe, but I felt the need to make some additions: 1/2 green bell pepper (cut into thin strips, added to my wok with the rest of the vegetables); 2 cloves of garlic, minced (added during the last minute of stir-frying the vegetables); about 1 Tbs. toasted sesame oil (tossed with the cooked and drained spaghetti--did not rinse with water); and 1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes (I like it a little spicy). I did not change the sauce recipe at all, there was no need to do so. I also chopped up some roasted peanuts for sprinkling (my sister's request). I will make this recipe again and again and sometimes add a protein to the noodles to make it more hearty. Thank you, SarBetEns, for this very good base recipe for a great lo mein dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
We all really loved these noodles, a perfect blend of flavors. I liked the subtle sweetness the honey added. I followed the recipe as written with the exception of also adding in a red sweet bell pepper with the other vegetables, and salt and white pepper while stir frying the vegetables. Easy enough and great side dish for any Asian main meal. I think any vegetable you have on hand would work with these noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
First, I never try anything on this website that has very few reviews. But, I took a risk, and it worked out. This is a solid recipe, and very simple. The sauce (consisting of teriyaki, soy, honey, & ginger) could probably be used for any stir-fry or marinade. I ended up using it for the Lo Mein noodles. I added a little rice vinegar and sesame oil to taste (once everything was combined), due to personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailie1
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I made this recipe and loved it! I've never made lo mein at home before this. I mostly followed the recipe other than the ginger, onions & celery. I didn't have these as I don't like them so I added broccoli & fresh sweet corn and at the last minute some crab meat. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was quick and easy, not to mention, delicious. I doubled the sauce like others suggested, other than the ginger, because I don't care for a strong ginger taste. I couldn't even taste it, so I could have used the extra ¼ tsp and been fine. My green onions were quite large so I added the whites along with the sauce and noodles, then saved the green parts to sprinkle on top of each serving, along with some slivered onions. Yum! UPDATE: We eat this pretty regularly, but I usually add extra veggies. It just depends what I have on hand; quartered and sliced zucchini, small broccoli florets, red peppers, just use whatever your family enjoys! I don't usually change the sauce because it's delicious as is, but once in awhile I'll add a tablespoon of lime juice. I also use ½ veg (canola) oil and ½ sesame oil when stir-frying, for a little more flavor. It's very versatile, but delicious as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Excellent! Quick and easy. I don't like celery and carrots, so instead used broccoli and shrimp along with the sweet onion. I had to make the sauce twice as one serving wasn't enough to cover the spaghetti and I didn't even use a whole pack of spaghetti, but even so, it was delicious. Maybe a tad too salty but that's my fault. I didn't have any low-sodium soy sauce on hand. Next time I make it, I'll also use mushrooms. Oh, and I used olive oil instead of vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dommiedime

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Really enjoyed this! My only changes were to use brown sugar instead of honey (I was out) and to thrown in extra veggies (cabbage & broccoli as I had some to use up). I was also out of ground ginger, so I simply sautéed some fresh ginger with veggies. Can't wait to make it with honey....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I made this recipe as directed with the addition of a shredded rotisserie chicken at the very end to make it more of a meal. It was average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States