Lo Mein Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I made this recipe and loved it! I've never made lo mein at home before this. I mostly followed the recipe other than the ginger, onions & celery. I didn't have these as I don't like them so I added broccoli & fresh sweet corn and at the last minute some crab meat. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Next time, I will start stir frying the carrots before adding the other vegetables. They took longer to cook, and as a result, the other veggies overcooked. I added grilled shrimp to make this an entree (used the marinade from Surf and Turf for Two from this site) and some red bell pepper slices to give it a little more color. Was concerned that I may need to thicken the sauce, but that wasn't the case. Enjoyed and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
These noodles were great! I didn't have any teriyaki so used a bit of balsamic instead. I baked some chicken in a mixture of the honey, balsamic and soy with ginger and then I cut it up and finished it off in the pan and added to the noodles. I paired this recipe with the awesome egg roll recipe which I love. I agree when stir frying the veggies start with carrots as they take longer. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Made this last night and it was great, but i did double the teriyaki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Delicious! When I was mixing up the sauce and tasted it, I wasn't sure, but after combining everything together, it was wonderful! I did use 1/2 sesame oil and 1/2 veg oil, b/c I love sesame oil. Oh, and I doubled the recipe, so there would be plenty for leftovers. This a so simple to make...a definite keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
We all really loved these noodles, a perfect blend of flavors. I liked the subtle sweetness the honey added. I followed the recipe as written with the exception of also adding in a red sweet bell pepper with the other vegetables, and salt and white pepper while stir frying the vegetables. Easy enough and great side dish for any Asian main meal. I think any vegetable you have on hand would work with these noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
This recipe was great,But after adding some more soy sauce at the end(i thought it didn't have quite enough flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I made this recipe as directed with the addition of a shredded rotisserie chicken at the very end to make it more of a meal. It was average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
This is a great base recipe, but I felt the need to make some additions: 1/2 green bell pepper (cut into thin strips, added to my wok with the rest of the vegetables); 2 cloves of garlic, minced (added during the last minute of stir-frying the vegetables); about 1 Tbs. toasted sesame oil (tossed with the cooked and drained spaghetti--did not rinse with water); and 1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes (I like it a little spicy). I did not change the sauce recipe at all, there was no need to do so. I also chopped up some roasted peanuts for sprinkling (my sister's request). I will make this recipe again and again and sometimes add a protein to the noodles to make it more hearty. Thank you, SarBetEns, for this very good base recipe for a great lo mein dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
What a great sauce! I would definitely double it next time. Added black pepper and white pepper at the end and mixed it. It could use a little heat like chili garlic or chili oil. For the teriyaki sauce, we always have veri veri teriyaki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States