Lo Mein Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I made this recipe and loved it! I've never made lo mein at home before this. I mostly followed the recipe other than the ginger, onions & celery. I didn't have these as I don't like them so I added broccoli & fresh sweet corn and at the last minute some crab meat. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Next time, I will start stir frying the carrots before adding the other vegetables. They took longer to cook, and as a result, the other veggies overcooked. I added grilled shrimp to make this an entree (used the marinade from Surf and Turf for Two from this site) and some red bell pepper slices to give it a little more color. Was concerned that I may need to thicken the sauce, but that wasn't the case. Enjoyed and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
These noodles were great! I didn't have any teriyaki so used a bit of balsamic instead. I baked some chicken in a mixture of the honey, balsamic and soy with ginger and then I cut it up and finished it off in the pan and added to the noodles. I paired this recipe with the awesome egg roll recipe which I love. I agree when stir frying the veggies start with carrots as they take longer. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Made this last night and it was great, but i did double the teriyaki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Delicious! When I was mixing up the sauce and tasted it, I wasn't sure, but after combining everything together, it was wonderful! I did use 1/2 sesame oil and 1/2 veg oil, b/c I love sesame oil. Oh, and I doubled the recipe, so there would be plenty for leftovers. This a so simple to make...a definite keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
We all really loved these noodles, a perfect blend of flavors. I liked the subtle sweetness the honey added. I followed the recipe as written with the exception of also adding in a red sweet bell pepper with the other vegetables, and salt and white pepper while stir frying the vegetables. Easy enough and great side dish for any Asian main meal. I think any vegetable you have on hand would work with these noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
This recipe was great,But after adding some more soy sauce at the end(i thought it didn't have quite enough flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I made this recipe as directed with the addition of a shredded rotisserie chicken at the very end to make it more of a meal. It was average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
This is a great base recipe, but I felt the need to make some additions: 1/2 green bell pepper (cut into thin strips, added to my wok with the rest of the vegetables); 2 cloves of garlic, minced (added during the last minute of stir-frying the vegetables); about 1 Tbs. toasted sesame oil (tossed with the cooked and drained spaghetti--did not rinse with water); and 1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes (I like it a little spicy). I did not change the sauce recipe at all, there was no need to do so. I also chopped up some roasted peanuts for sprinkling (my sister's request). I will make this recipe again and again and sometimes add a protein to the noodles to make it more hearty. Thank you, SarBetEns, for this very good base recipe for a great lo mein dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
What a great sauce! I would definitely double it next time. Added black pepper and white pepper at the end and mixed it. It could use a little heat like chili garlic or chili oil. For the teriyaki sauce, we always have veri veri teriyaki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States