Liver and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Needs to be cooked WAY longer then 1 1/2 minutes per side. Sugar adds a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Hickman, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Tonight's liver & onions entree was the best I've ever eaten in my lifetime. The liver was very tender and mild flavored. Perhaps contributing to the tenderness was the fact I did soak the liver in milk first for about four hours. Also, it seemed one teaspoon sugar was adequate because I used sweet Spanish onion, sliced rather than diced. Another thing I did was cut the liver slices into smaller pieces, added salt and onion powder to flour, and after dredging, browned quickly in batches. This recipe as I made tonight is company perfect--absolutely delicious for liver lovers and a special taste treat for those who say they don't care for liver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Wow, this is SO good...never would have thunk it! The 2 keys to this meal are to use real butter, and don't forgo the sugar. I used 2 onions and doubled the sugar, but it was just a tad too sweet; would use 3 tsp next time. My kids weren't terribly impressed however. When I remarked that I thought that this was exceptionally good liver and onions, my son replied, "Yes, it is exceptionally good liver and onions. But it still tastes awful, because it's liver and onions!" Oh well, you can't win 'em all. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I loved liver and onions before this recipe,now I love it even more! Thank you so much for this recipe.I make it often,and have made non-liver-eaters fans for life! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Again I love liver and this is great. It seems I neverhardly ever rate anything below 4 stars, I must just love food. Nah, I just think everyone here is just fabulous cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
I have to only give this three stars...I thought it was decent, but my family refused to eat it after the first few bites (and they'll eat just about anything). I ended up having to run out for pizza, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Just made this for dinner. It's the best! Used brown sugar and deglazed with a little sherry like was suggested by others.Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharonville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Onions are great! I used frozen calves liver that are easy & quick floured or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
mmmmm, this liver & onions recipe is simply delicious! i also crumbled 4 slices of crisp fried slab bacon into the caramelized onions for extra flavor. many thanks, lola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
I really love this recipe, it is absolutely the best!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bucyrus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States