Liver and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This was the BEST I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I learned after this last night and enjoying it for dinner that the rave reviews are well deserved! This is truly delicious. Neither my husband nor I have been big fans of liver in the past, but this has made a true believer of me. I loved the carmelized onions. I made this recipe just as originally printed with one exception: I used stevia in place of sugar (with great results!). Next time, just for good health's sake, I think I'll try using olive oil instead of butter and oat flour instead of wheat. I will now make this on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HANNER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This is a really good recipe, although kids still won't eat it. I've tried soaking it in milk which makes it taste even better but kids still won't eat it. I do though thanks 4 the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GETVICTD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This was the best Liver and Onions that I've ever had, and it was my first time cooking it at home. We've always went out and had this meal. But it's now a stay at home meal that I'll fix all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I used this recipe as a guidline last night and it was a tremendous help and also helped ease my mind about the liver turning out to tough. I had never cooked liver due to the horror stories of hearing how it turns out tough like shoe leather lol. So in the past I always just had my grandmother make it for me lol I read over alot of the comments first before using it and adapted some of the suggestions. Sprinkled salt n pepper directly on top of one side of the liver before flouring, used whole slices of liver instead of slicing into 1/2 pieces, cooked in electric skillet on 250 for about 3-4 minutes on each side, 2 onions instead of one and only one teaspoon of sugar in them. My boyfriend said it was fantastic and that I now know how to cook liver sense it turned out so tender! haha Yay! I did it. If I can, anyone can! Ooops! I forgot to take a picture, but I have to say, it did turn out really pretty! Maybe next time! Thank you very much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I had a craving for liver and stopped by a local restaurant and was so disappointed that I was determined to fix my craving by making it myself. I am SO glad i found this recipe. It was PERFECT. I didn't have any milk so I soaked liver in a mild salt water solution for about 15 minutes. Also, it is important to use deveined liver to help with the tenderness. I carmelized the onions first with only about a half tsp sugar, salt, and pepper for about 10 minutes. Near the end of the liver cooking time, I added a little water to help deglaze the pan and tenderize the liver more. Again, I loved the simplicity of the recipe as well as the flavor. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
very easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kimberley, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Pretty darned good this way. We will have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin-Ohio

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Heath, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Fantastic.I love the camelized onions.I use sweet onions and I fry my whole pieces of liver in bacon fat.I also add one cup of water and alittle beef soup base.Simmer for about 15 minutes.Fantastic gravy for mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie Brandon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States