Liver and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I had a craving for liver and stopped by a local restaurant and was so disappointed that I was determined to fix my craving by making it myself. I am SO glad i found this recipe. It was PERFECT. I didn't have any milk so I soaked liver in a mild salt water solution for about 15 minutes. Also, it is important to use deveined liver to help with the tenderness. I carmelized the onions first with only about a half tsp sugar, salt, and pepper for about 10 minutes. Near the end of the liver cooking time, I added a little water to help deglaze the pan and tenderize the liver more. Again, I loved the simplicity of the recipe as well as the flavor. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
very easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kimberley, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Pretty darned good this way. We will have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin-Ohio

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Heath, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Fantastic.I love the camelized onions.I use sweet onions and I fry my whole pieces of liver in bacon fat.I also add one cup of water and alittle beef soup base.Simmer for about 15 minutes.Fantastic gravy for mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie Brandon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This recipe was VERY good. Only small tweaks were made to my liking. Since I like onions I sliced rather than diced them. I also salt and peppered the liver before cooking it. Lastly I added water while the liver was cooking and that thickened to gravy. This will be my liver recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Diva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
delicious! although my bf said it was very good, he also explained to me, that when he cooks his liver, he adds water to it about 3/4 of the way through cooking and lets it simmer for 15 min. claims it makes the liver much more tender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hummingbird

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This was really good-- my whole family enjoyed... thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reciprocipe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clifton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
my guy loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peru, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I made a liver lover out of my sweetheart with this recipe! I did not cut the liver up but did add cooked crumbled bacon as a topping. I served with potaoe halfs filled with butter, bacon, melted cheddar cheese and topped with the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This was a great recipe. I did switch up on some things. First I soaked the liver in milk, suffering from anemia as a child my mom taught me this. Once soaked I dredged it in Italian Bread Crumbs and seasoned it with salt and pepper. I sauteed the onions in the Italian Butter, which is basically butter, garlic and herbs with some Romano cheese, added the sugar and a little EVOO. My husband loved this. Will make again and soon. Had not had liver since I was young because I was force fed it so much by my mom. Who would have thought that 30 years later I'd be saying - YUM, YUM more liver please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Alicea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States