Liver and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
fantastic recipe! my liver came already deskinned from the walmart freezer section; it was also very thin... I added the extra 3/4 cup water and set the liver on top of the onions. The flavor rose up, and it came out wonderfully. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I didn't grow up with liver but these are AWESOME! Took advice on soaking liver in milk first. Try not to overcook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simplicity

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I used some chicken livers from a whole chicken,cut ingredients down. I also added some cut up bacon. This was so good! The sugar adds the perfect taste to the sauteed onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Perfect! It has been years since I made live and onions. My husband made some for me a while back and it was not very good. I found this recipe last week and used it as directed. The liver turned out exactly as it it should! Thank you for this submission. This will become a permanent recipe in my catalog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whispering Raven

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
MMMMMMM so yummy! I added garlic powder for extra flavor and soaked liver 3 hours before cooking in milk. Turned out very tender-the sweet onions smothered on top were incredible. Didn't have to do dishes...everyone licked their plates clean:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This was the BEST I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I learned after this last night and enjoying it for dinner that the rave reviews are well deserved! This is truly delicious. Neither my husband nor I have been big fans of liver in the past, but this has made a true believer of me. I loved the carmelized onions. I made this recipe just as originally printed with one exception: I used stevia in place of sugar (with great results!). Next time, just for good health's sake, I think I'll try using olive oil instead of butter and oat flour instead of wheat. I will now make this on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HANNER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This is a really good recipe, although kids still won't eat it. I've tried soaking it in milk which makes it taste even better but kids still won't eat it. I do though thanks 4 the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GETVICTD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This was the best Liver and Onions that I've ever had, and it was my first time cooking it at home. We've always went out and had this meal. But it's now a stay at home meal that I'll fix all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I used this recipe as a guidline last night and it was a tremendous help and also helped ease my mind about the liver turning out to tough. I had never cooked liver due to the horror stories of hearing how it turns out tough like shoe leather lol. So in the past I always just had my grandmother make it for me lol I read over alot of the comments first before using it and adapted some of the suggestions. Sprinkled salt n pepper directly on top of one side of the liver before flouring, used whole slices of liver instead of slicing into 1/2 pieces, cooked in electric skillet on 250 for about 3-4 minutes on each side, 2 onions instead of one and only one teaspoon of sugar in them. My boyfriend said it was fantastic and that I now know how to cook liver sense it turned out so tender! haha Yay! I did it. If I can, anyone can! Ooops! I forgot to take a picture, but I have to say, it did turn out really pretty! Maybe next time! Thank you very much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States