Liver and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I grew up loving liver and onions. I made a few changes by adding a pound of bacon and adding a more onions to it with a little more sugar. My girl friend came home witch hates liver and asked what smelled so good, I said taste this. SHE LOVED IT! I then told her what it was and she ate two helpings and she is a small lady. GREAT DISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sodus, New York, USA
Living In: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Easy and very tasty. I will probably cut back on the sugar the next time. It doesn't really need it, the onions will sweeten as they caramalize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nolagyrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I also simmer the liver in some beef broth; really makes it tender. With mashed potatoes is usually the way it is served in restaurants and the broth makes a good gravy. Also good now that the sweet Texas 1015 onions are in season! And by reading all of the review, and see that will work for others, and than for me, to make it more flavorful or lot better for me to do! Anyway, excellent to do a SCRATCH on recipes. The more I play with my food, the more I love cooking, to make a recipe that will work for me, that is!! Than I can do the happy food dance!! I've will added this to my recipe book with my additions. THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grpa
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Thank you for this recipe it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Made recipe as written with following changes. I soaked the liver in milk for a couple hours (overnight would even be better) and drained the milk off thoroughly. Seasoned the liver liberally with Tony Chachere's Creole seasoning before dredging in flour. Otherwise went right by the recipe. Best liver and onions I've ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springhill, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Good recipe. Served with hominy grits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I'm normally not a fan of liver. My husband bought it to increase my iron levels. I saw this recipe and gave it a shot and now LOVE liver! My kids have always hated it but after all 3 tried it, 2 of them like it now as well. One even ate most of my dinner! Delicious simple recipe. Something about cutting it in thin slices really made it wonderful too. Will be making this often :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I rated this a four star just because I dislike liver. I made this for my boyfriend for his birthday, and he really liked it. I tried a piece with onion and thought i could eat it, but then I tried a piece by itself and no, I could not eat it. But he really liked it and said it was perfect. I didn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Uher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hopkinsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I had never made this before because I don't eat it. My husband said it was better than his mother's. Maybe; maybe not! But he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I've never been a big fan of liver, but this was amazing! I soaked the liver in milk for about 2 hours and added the salt and pepper along with a teaspoon of garlic powder right to the flour. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B. Porter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States