Liver Pate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
Good basic recipe. Easy, but could use some illumination. First, don't over cook the livers. When stabbed, they should still be 'rosey' inside. Once livers are done, drain, and pick out onion. LET COOL. Trying to puree hot livers with the butter makes it soup. Puree the liver WELL. First you might need to scrape, and then you'll see the "rolling ball" stage . Keep going. You'll read another "following" stage before done. Liver when tested should be smoothe, like butter. I like to use 1/4 C shallots instead of onion for the final finish. Add the onion/shallot first, and run the processor until you can't see any bits larger than a peppercorn via looking at the side of the clear processor bowl. Add softened butter, but cut the butter into chunks for easer mising. Run for a but until no large chunks of butter. Then add sherry. Try not to use cheap grocery store cooking shery, use a nice sherry, it make a big difference. Mix to add sherry. I add about 1 to 2 Tbs of whole cream now, and run for about 1 minute. Mixture will be nearly soupy. Pour into oiled bowl/mold. You'll need more than 1 hour to chill, try 3 or 4 to set properly. Use a warm water bath for perfect unmolding. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
This is an excellent recipe. I boil the liver with the onions and a few cloves of garlic then puree it all up together and omit the raw onion. I also add a 1/2 cup of half and half, a teaspoon of worcestershire sauce and a 1/2 teaspoon of allspice. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennie C
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
I'm new to the world of pureed meats. First, I made the recipe exactly as printed. Tasted it and then doubled the spices. Very nice ... my mom said it's better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
This is an excellent recipe. I used it for Beef Wellington and it truly made the dish. Thank you for it… its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This was my first time making pate. I think its a good basic receipe but it needs tweaking to make it great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
Ah yes, more snow in the forecast! Must type fast before my PC gets rid of me again. I normally don't eat red meat, but again, this is one of those exceptions. I developed a taste for liver pate when I was married to the "first husband". He was Jewish and his grandmother made the best chopped chicken livers. I did add more seasonings to this along with a chopped hard boiled egg and crispy bacon pieces. (thanks Darcy for the 411 on the onion) This was excellent William and I'll certainly be making this again! Has anyone tryed this with goose livers?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Wonderful! I had to make this for the Beef Wellington but eating the leftovers the next day showed how wonderful it is. My hubby (who only like pate de foie gras) said it was outstanding -- not that normal strong chicken liver flavor. I left in some cooked onions while pureeing, and added about 2 TBS more dry sherry (didn't have cooking sherry). Substituted mace for allspice and still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
Great recipe, William. Thank you. I have never cooked with mace and am unsure of what it would add to this recipe. But I must say, I added a teaspoon of garlic powder, and this spread came out delightful. I served it with bagle chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I thought this recipe was easy and tastes great. Will be a hit at Christmas Eve party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
Easy and quick to make and uses low-fat margarine to reduce the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Tarragon Chicken

What's cooking in Bellevue? An authentic, yet modern, French classic.

Chicken Cordon Bleu I

This delicious recipe only seems difficult. See how it’s done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States