Liver Lickers Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I've made these twice so far. My dogs (all 3) love them. The first time I used chicken & gravy baby food and dropped by a teaspoon. I got about 2 dozen cookies that way. My kidz get a treat with each successful trip outside, so that didn't go very far. The second batch I made with beef and gravy baby food and then I piped them with a frosting tip. I used a sandwich bag with the corner cut off and a big tip on it. I made closer to 75 cookies that way. They kinda looked like little hershey kisses. I baked for 15 minutes. The kidz totally approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakeside, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Caution. Too much liver can be harmful to dogs. While liver is a healthy treat, too much can cause a vitamin A overdose causing bone spurs, etc, in your dog. I make liver treats, too, but I'm VERY careful about giving them to him. You may want to check with your vet before including such treats in your dog's diet. It' s very unfortunate, too, because even very fussy dogs LOVE liver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
As you can see from my picture, my little Lily was hypnotized by these. She absolutely loves them. I could not find liver in the baby food aisle so I used a jar of chicken and gravy. Thanks so much for these winners! UPDATE: I roll about a teaspoon in little balls and then press them down on the cookie sheet to make a cookie shape. I also bake these at 250 for 15 minutes and flip them over and bake for another 15 minutes so the bottoms don't get too brown. Still have not found liver baby food, but the chicken & gravy baby food seems to suit her just fine. We love this healthy treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
my 2 picky eaters loved them and the treats are healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allmy4animals

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Six Stars! Easiest thing to make and bake. Instead of water I use broth (chicken or beef). Even my neighbors pets come sit on my steps each day for a snack. Try a little cheese in these too. DOGGY GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round O, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
My dogs LOVE these treats. I couldn’t find liver baby food so I just pureed chicken livers for a substitute. I don’t add much, if any, water because I prefer a stiffer dough that I roll into a log and just cut slices to bake as needed. Also, I found that if I bake at 250 for 15 minuts, flip, then bake another 15 minutes, the bottoms won’t burn. I rate this recipe 5 stars because the basis includes ingredients that are very healthy for dogs so you can feel good about feeding these treats to your ‘kids’ and it’s easy peasy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
My brother and I thought this was really easy to prepare. We don't have a dog (yet!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juan Vallee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
My pups loved this. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States