Little Nut Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
These are really tasty! Here's my notes: don't try to make these in those throw-away cupcake pans. the ones I cooked in the throw-away pans didn't set right and they were gooey. Spray non-stick spray before flattening the dough in the cup. Also, make sure the cookies are completely cool, then slide a fork around the edges and they'll pop right out. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I made this recipe to include as part of a monthly care package I send to troops stationed overseas. With Thanksgiving coming up, I figured they could use a little home tradition. These turned out very well and I really like the shortbread quality of the dough. One small warning - read the ingredient list carefully! After putting in wayyyyy too much cream cheese (seriously, never seen a 3oz package of cream cheese...) I had to adjust all the other measurements to match and wound up with 90 little nut cups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.C. Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
These tasted just like the ones my Grandma used to make and I brought some into work for some of my co-workers to try and they loved them! If you are not much into baking, these are definitely a few steps up on the difficulty scale! I don't bake a lot so these were not easy but they aren't that bad and they were well worth the effort! :) I managed to get 36 balls out of the dough but it took a little bit of fanagling. You don't need to make them very big at all and you can get 36 out of this recipe. However, I had way more filling than I needed. I sprayed my muffin tins with some cooking spray but I put too much filling in them. The filling puffs up a bit during baking & it will spill out making them really hard to get out of the tins if you're not careful. :) Again - totally worth the effort. They taste little pecan pies - YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAGDYANN422

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I don't bake ever, but a friend made these and I asked where she got the recipe. I made them myself and they turned out great. I put them in a plactic container and they lasted for ages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Perfect recipe for the kids to make!!! My twin (9year olds) boys found this recipe and decided to dig in. They found it quite easy and simple to create. And now I will make a few batches for my coworkers....Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
What a nightmare. Admittedly, I'm just not good at making nut cups - and believe me, I've tried several times so the poor rating could just be the 'chef'! :) Nobody ever told me how hard these are to bake - no wonder they're always a rare hit on a cookie tray. In any case, I made exactly as written and felt I didn't have enough dough. My cups were weak at the bottom and the mixture oozed out making them messy and unappealing - though I and my husband both admit they were tasty. Perhaps making 1 and a half times the dough could have rectified the problem. However, the presentation, effort and amount of waste have deterred me from ever attempting to make these again. For what it's worth, I actually consider myself a pretty decent baker! Sorry for the sad review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flower Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
These were a little time consuming, but got rave reviews at the cookie exchange at work. Be careful not to fill the cups too full or they will spill out over the top when the "cup" starts to cook. I used pecans, so they were like tiny pecan pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
WOW! So chewy and sweet. I followed the recipe exactly except for the hunny drizzle, I used maple syrup instead. A tip: dont fill the cups too much or else it overflows and the syrup/hunny soaks into the outside of the cup and sticks to the tin, making it hard to remove as the sugar has glued it to the tin. I am definantly going to make this again. So good dousnt say enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
These were ok. I love the filling, just like pecan pie. However, I wasn't really fond of the crust/dough. It was a little bland and had too much of flour taste to it. And it was little too hard to make a shell in mini-muffin cups. But the filling is 5 stars all the way. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
These cookies are great! I have made them a few times, they are the first to be gone. I did learn to refridgerate the dough before you roll them into balls, it makes it much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Tiramisu Cups

See how to make amazing mini tiramisu treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States