Little Meat Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
I had high hopes considering all of the rave reviews. The beef/sausage combination gives a nice texture, but the taste is rather bland, Without the sauce, it has little flavor. I may stick with the meat combination, and add green peppers, diced tomatoes, and some minced garlic to enhance the Italian seasonings of this recipe the next time I make meatloaf. Adding some of the sauce to the loaves may help also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
We did not really like the way this tasted at all. Additionally, the presentation was not very appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
My husband, who swears no one cooks as good as his Mom, said it was the best meatloaf he had ever tasted, hands down. Thanks for an awesome recipe and outdoing my mother in law!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I followed some of the other reviewers suggestions and used shredded cheese. I also added a little more italian seasoning. I cut back on the sugar, and used a mix of bbq sauce and ketchup for the topping. Tasted great. My 15 year old daughter, who claims not to like meatloaf, liked it. It's always helpful to read the reviews for ideas! Thanks everyone :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mosinee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Until now, my husband despised meatloaf. With this recipe, I have converted him to a meatloaf lover. I made it for dinner, and he had it for breakfast and lunch the next day. I substituted breadcrumbs for the crackers, reduced the amount of sausage and brown sugar as other reviewers suggested, and doubled the amount of sauce I made. I put 1/2 the sauce on top of the recipe and simmered the rest to use as a dipping sauce. I also left off topping it with Parmesan. This recipe goes into the "make often" recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Palm City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
This recipe was awesome! I've shared it with friends, they've made it and we all agree that this recipe will replace our old ones. The only changed I'd recommend is to double the Italian seasoning, and if you like hot, use hot sausage, I used Jimmy Dean regular. Will make again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This came out very moist despite not being covered in the oven, and the sauce was delectable. I threw out my old meatloaf recipe and replaced it with this one. A raving hit with the whole family and an absolute winner all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I love this recipe! I took other members' advice to cut back on the sugar and I used 1 and 1/3 pounds of beef and 2/3 lb of sausage to cut down on the sausage taste just a bit. I also used onion powder rather than fresh onion. This meat loaf is very moist and flavorful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
This meat loaf rocks! I did add bell peper and garlic but they turn out perfect. My friends all loved it , said it was the best they ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEGASWILDFLOWER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
These meatloafs were a hit with my family. I am giving it 4 stars because I modified the receipe. I added green peppers, I omitted the parmesan cheese on the top of the meatloaf and used shredded cheedar cheese at the last few minutes of baking. The big change I made was instead of ketchup, I used Open Pit barbecue sauce. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States