Little Lamb Meatballs in a Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by RobBroad4th
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This just became my favorite recipe on the site. I'm a new cook and a big fan of Chef John's recipes. If you're looking for something different, this is truly outstanding. Check out his video for this recipe on Foodwishes.com which really helped me through it. I couldn't find any coriander so I minced some cilantro for the meatballs. It is a bit time consuming but WELL WORTH IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I never use a recipe when it has only 1 review, but I had ground lamb and some eggplants and 2 hungry boys. So I gave it a shot. I have to say that I forgot to add the yogurt, and the garlic even though I had both. Everyone in my family liked this one, even the kids who don't like eggplants, and even asked for it for lunch the next day. I thought it would take longer to make than it actually did, but to speed up the process for next time, I'll make the meatballs ahead of time and put them in the freezer for a quick meal. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
omg words can not describe!!!!!!! simple to produce, even easier going down with the whole family!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine Scott-Cochran

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I made this recipe for my anniversary and it turned delicious. It was really easy to make I just followed the recipe. I paired the recipe with a Pinot Noir wine and it was really good. The only thing I didn't add was the cayenne pepper because I didn't have it but the recipe still very delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Wow this was fabulous. I loved the rich, fragrant sauce and the meatballs were perfectly flavored. Because I find lamb a little greasy, I mixed half ground lamb, half ground beef together. I also cut the salt by 1/3 and did not miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Prissz
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Wow, Chef John, you are my new HERO. Dinner tonight was probably one of my best and I am a woman that LOVES to cook. I didn't make it too spicy, but everything else I did as written. I paired it with your perfect mashed potato recipe, wonderful by the way, and some grilled sweet peppers tossed with olive oil and butter pecan infused balsamic vinegar. All three of my kids have had seconds. I quadrupled the recipe making 1/2 of it now and freezing the meat mixture for another time. WOW, can't wait to try more of your recipes. You're AWESOME :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This recipe was a great way to use up the eggplant from my garden! I loved the method of browning the meatballs in the oven. They were browned like the would be in a pan but I didn't have to fuss with them. The only thing I changed was that I used beef hamburger instead of lamb. (It was what I had in the freezer.) It is a great recipe it will be using again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amery, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This was pretty good....took an awful lot of time to make and I liked it, just didn't love it for the amount of time it took me to make. I made exactly as written and thought it would have been better if the sauce was a bit thicker. Maybe if I make again I will try adding more marinara sauce and less chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAB1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
We really liked the taste. Nice flavor. Next time I will add more marinara sauce and broth. Unless I did something wrong, I had a lot of meatballs and not much sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and ended up with GREAT results. I served this with penne pasta lightly coated with bechamel (white) sauce. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

How to Make Lamb Meatballs

See how to make baked lamb meatballs simmered in a simple tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States