Little Lamb Meatballs in a Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This is one of my favorite recipes. I forgot to buy Marinara sauce, so tonight I used around 3/4 of a can of fire roasted diced tomatoes and a few squirts of Amore tomato paste. I think I like this a little more than the marinara. LOVE THIS!!! (I also love Chef John's recipe for Lamb Shanks Vindaloo. Incredible!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This was a big hit around our house, made exactly as per the recipe. Lamb, tomatoes, eggplant and middle eastern spices - what's not to like? As a bonus, I've also made the sauce without the meatballs, but adding the pepper, cinnamon, coriander and cumin from the meatballs. Cooked longer, until it's very thick, it makes a great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Really good but it does need the sauce volume increased. Especially good paired with a traditional greek salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I left out the egg plant and used squash instead - fabulous. Really good "soup" or put over rice or other vegetables. Lots of juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marti Temple

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Came out perfectly. It did take some time but it was easy enough to make. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Wow! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Wonderful Recipe! I cut the lamb with some pork, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly - DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Cooking Panda
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Everyone loved this dish. Another winner from Chef John. The mini lamb meatballs came out very tender and juicy. It is a perfect meal for 3-4 people. The eggplant sauce was just has right amount of spice. A plus is that the meat balls didn't take very long to make, the squeezing method works very well. Carry on Chef John. I am a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Panda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Just made tonight and the sauce itself is wonderfully delicious and I could eat it on its own. I had to substitute ground pork for lamb as my store was out of ground lamb, but still very good. Only negative thing is that in my opinion there is way too much salt in the meatball mixture, other than that I will be making again....and again, and doubling the eggplant/sauce part of it!! I ate mine over top of jasmine rice tonight. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
this was so simple to prepare and tasted delish. the meatballs were so so tender! loved the idea of mixing the greek yogurt w/the egg and crumbs first. I did add all the spices as listed but also added a heaping 1/2 tsp. of Kibseh spice as well. also added some parsley to the meatballs, and roasted the eggplant cubes, onion, and garlic. a splash of red wine. the only thing I can see that is a bit off is the proportions of the sauce and chicken broth. I had to almost double it but perhaps it is because I added some crimini mushrooms and roasted peppers so the sauce had quite a full body. this is a keeper! so easy and again the balls are so tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

How to Make Lamb Meatballs

See how to make baked lamb meatballs simmered in a simple tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States