Little Lamb Meatballs in a Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by njmom
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
this was very, very good. i found a bag of cubed eggplant, and ground lamb in the freezer, and had some leftover homemade tomato sauce, so this really fit the bill! served with rice pilaf. thanks chef john!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
This spice combination is a real winner. I have made this twice and the second time I used half lamb and half ground turkey thigh just cause I wanted to use up the turkey and make a larger batch. Just as nice..maybe even better! I can't tell you how many successes I've had with every Chef Johns recipes. They are always brilliant and easy. I ?? chef John!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This was excellent! I had to substitute something for the eggplant (because I didn't have one and couldn't get out to the store..) so I diced up a couple of yellow squash and it was fantastic. I can only imagine how good this would have been with eggplant :) will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Awesome. So worth the time. It's easy, just allow some time to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Revenew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Amazing! One of my favorite recipes to date! I only had ground turkey on hand so I used that instead of lamb but it was still incredible! The sauce was flavorful and the meatballs were moist and perfectly seasoned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenm712
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Perfect and delicious. Made a few changes. I added green beans and a chopped potato to make It more hearty. Also needed more sauce and chicken broth. The amount the recipe calls for is not enough. And my little changes, cilantro, dill and a bit of parsley in the meat and the sauce. It was absolutely amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Amazing so delicious im not a spag bol fan but love this will definately be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LeAnna Quartuccio
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Followed the recipe to a T and it was phenomenal. The trick to thickening the sauce, I believe, is to use a good quality marinara that is nice and chunky to begin with and to simmer for a full 45 minutes. I actually ended up adding extra marinara it was so thick! We also added some feta on top. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeAnna Quartuccio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I loved this recipe. It was easy to make and well worth the wait to eat. For me, what really made the difference is using actual Greek Yogurt as compared to plain North American yogurt - the consistency is thicker. I served it with Barilla rotini that I put shredded marble cheese and feta on top then added the meatball marinara sauce.The only thing I might change when I make it again is to add some red pepper flakes to the burgers to get an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This was really amazing. Don't change the recipe too much. Just try it as written. Oh, and don't leave out the mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

How to Make Lamb Meatballs

See how to make baked lamb meatballs simmered in a simple tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States