Little Lamb Meatballs in a Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I made the meatballs only to put in pita breads with spinach and a sauce of plain yogurt and lemon juice. This recipe rocks! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Delicious! Followed recipe for the most part but added 1/2 lb ground turkey to extend recipe. Am on Weight Watchers so made a few changes. Added 1/2 can Rotelle which i had in freezer and 28oz. can of diced tomatoes in place of "marinara" Did not saute veggies in olive oil--just dumped all together. Lightened up by using fat free sour cream in place of Greek yogurt (that's what i had on hand) & Egg Beaters in place of egg, and low sodium vegetable broth. Added 1/2 lb mushrooms. The liquid cooked down somewhat but I felt this made the sauce chunkier, which i liked. I like the taste and texture of this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Even though I made this with TWP instead of lamp. This tasted great ! Thank you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Reasonably simple to make, as I find most of the recipes here at allrecipes,com to be. As ever, the flavor profiles created here are at least measurably familiar to the cuisine they are supposed to be emulating and this one does so, as well. I did find that I needed to add more liquid once the sauce had been reduced by half--opted for additional marinara sauce a it turned out. Pretty good. A bit of time more than I was inclined to put in tonight, but still, not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Wanted to offer adventuresome guests an alternative from standard meatballs and sauce, and these lamb meatballs did the trick. The slightly spicy eggplant tomato sauce exceptionally distinguishes this dish from a traditional marinara sauce. A side shaker of grated Pecorino Romano cheese added another level of outstanding flavor to those choosing to use it. The quantity of sauce seemed well proportioned given that we didn’t serve this over pasta or rice. Several people requested the recipe, and Chef John adds another cleverly inventive recipe to his already large collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Just DELISH! My family ate it up...love the eggplant and the mint really topped it off. We didn't do the spicy part due to small kids but yummers! L
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This is one of my favorite recipes. I forgot to buy Marinara sauce, so tonight I used around 3/4 of a can of fire roasted diced tomatoes and a few squirts of Amore tomato paste. I think I like this a little more than the marinara. LOVE THIS!!! (I also love Chef John's recipe for Lamb Shanks Vindaloo. Incredible!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This was a big hit around our house, made exactly as per the recipe. Lamb, tomatoes, eggplant and middle eastern spices - what's not to like? As a bonus, I've also made the sauce without the meatballs, but adding the pepper, cinnamon, coriander and cumin from the meatballs. Cooked longer, until it's very thick, it makes a great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Really good but it does need the sauce volume increased. Especially good paired with a traditional greek salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I left out the egg plant and used squash instead - fabulous. Really good "soup" or put over rice or other vegetables. Lots of juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marti Temple

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

How to Make Lamb Meatballs

See how to make baked lamb meatballs simmered in a simple tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States