Little Lamb Meatballs in a Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2015
I had ground chicken instead of lamb, but I found this recipe very interesting, so I decided to try it and oooh yes it turned out fantastic (except for the meat, I followed everything precisely). I guess it's yogurt that gives the meatballs incredible tenderness and the spices combination is very nice and unique. Next time I'll double the ingredients and freeze them ahead. Chef John, you're the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
this was so delicious.. i dont know why i was expecting it to be more italian but this was more middle eastern to me.. i subbed ground chicken for the lamb.. i added the garlic to the sauce mistakenly but it worked out just fine.. i used World's Best Marinara (on this site) for the marinara.. so good! ty so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
this was very, very good. i found a bag of cubed eggplant, and ground lamb in the freezer, and had some leftover homemade tomato sauce, so this really fit the bill! served with rice pilaf. thanks chef john!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
This spice combination is a real winner. I have made this twice and the second time I used half lamb and half ground turkey thigh just cause I wanted to use up the turkey and make a larger batch. Just as nice..maybe even better! I can't tell you how many successes I've had with every Chef Johns recipes. They are always brilliant and easy. I ?? chef John!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This was excellent! I had to substitute something for the eggplant (because I didn't have one and couldn't get out to the store..) so I diced up a couple of yellow squash and it was fantastic. I can only imagine how good this would have been with eggplant :) will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Awesome. So worth the time. It's easy, just allow some time to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Revenew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Amazing! One of my favorite recipes to date! I only had ground turkey on hand so I used that instead of lamb but it was still incredible! The sauce was flavorful and the meatballs were moist and perfectly seasoned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenm712
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Perfect and delicious. Made a few changes. I added green beans and a chopped potato to make It more hearty. Also needed more sauce and chicken broth. The amount the recipe calls for is not enough. And my little changes, cilantro, dill and a bit of parsley in the meat and the sauce. It was absolutely amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Amazing so delicious im not a spag bol fan but love this will definately be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LeAnna Quartuccio
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Followed the recipe to a T and it was phenomenal. The trick to thickening the sauce, I believe, is to use a good quality marinara that is nice and chunky to begin with and to simmer for a full 45 minutes. I actually ended up adding extra marinara it was so thick! We also added some feta on top. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeAnna Quartuccio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

How to Make Lamb Meatballs

See how to make baked lamb meatballs simmered in a simple tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States